|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

> Gooseneck 5th wheel adapter

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
brownmht

Maryland

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 08/05/12 07:51pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Greetings all!

I am brand new to the fifth wheel gig. I will be taking delivery of a 2008 F-350 with a gooseneck hitch in the bed. However, the trailer we are planning on buying isn't a gooseneck. In my search for 5th wheel hitches, I stumbled upon a universal hitch adapter.

My question simply is this a good idea? Is anyone else doing this?

The fiver we a looking at is a 29 foot Keystone Cougar. It's 11,500 GVRW. So the 24,000 the adapter is advertised at is more than strong enough.

My initial feeling is "skeptical optimism". However, before talking to a saleman and having no experience with these things, I ask your opinion.

josten367

Columbia, MO

View Profile

Posted: 08/05/12 08:05pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think we have discussed this before quite a bit and it just depends on what you want to do. I had the same question and I went with a B&W Companion hitch. It slides right into where your gooseneck ball is and put a fifth wheel hitch in two pieces.

B&W Companion

Here is one of the posting like your question:

Gooseneck Hitch

2012 Palomino Puma Bunkhouse 5th Wheel 295KBH
2003 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab 4x4 Gas with Flowmasters
B&W Companion 5th Wheel

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

View Profile

Posted: 08/05/12 08:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator