RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: No satellite signal thru the cable input

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

> No satellite signal thru the cable input

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
kb0vwg

Lyford

View Profile

Posted: 08/31/12 08:36pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello

I have purchased my first travel trailer so I guess I am kinda new to this I did travel with the parents in their RV years ago. My question
is why I am not able to receive any satellite signal in my RV running thru the cable connection on the outside of the RV. I know the cable is good it has been hooked up to a cable connection. I did line the dish with the satellite and was receiving all channels when i hooked up the dish directly to the receiver to a small TV on the outside and i am able to receive all the channels I subscribe too, and the signal is 98%.

Is the cable that is run thru the RV not the proper kind, Is it less than Rg6? Is there any thing that can be done to get it to work, besides running new cable?
Thanks
Michael
kb0vwg

seattlefirervr

Snohomish, WA

View Profile

Posted: 08/31/12 08:49pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Easiest solution is to purchase a 4' section of flat coax with a couple of double males. Then run coax thru a window directly to your cable box.