RV.Net Open Roads Forum: One Dish Hopper at home and another in the MH?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > One Dish Hopper at home and another in the MH?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Thunder Mountain

Lost in the Four Corners

Senior Member

Joined: 02/09/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/06/17 10:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dish is telling me they won't let me have a Hopper at home and a second one in the MH. Anybody else run into this issue? If so, what was your work around?

I do have the option of just putting the home Hopper in the MH for the winter.


2016 Winnebago Journey 40R
2012 Rubicon
1982 FJ40 Toyota Land Cruiser
2013 Keystone Outback 250RS
2013 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost
2 Arctic Cats
1 Wildcat
4 Cats
3 Dogs
1 Bottle of Jack Daniels
Two old hippies still trying to find ourselves!

donn0128

Pronounced Ore-gun

Senior Member

Joined: 04/21/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/06/17 10:09am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Take the 1 from home. No big deal unless you leave someone at home


Don,Lorri,and Charlie Bear 2016
The Other Dallas


Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 10/06/17 10:16am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We have one Hopper with Sling (H2) permanently installed in our motorhome and a second H2 installed at our Adirondack vacation cottage. Both are purchased units though, and we are not under any contract with Dish. On the road, we use a portable tripod mounted dish, and the cottage has a permanently installed dish that's equipped to connect two Hoppers when we're parked there. On the road, we can use the Dish Anywhere app to access either Hopper, and when we're at the cottage, the two Hoppers communicate with each other to share DVR access. When we're away from the cottage, which is most of the time, we change our service location as needed with Dish, which also changes the cottage Hopper, so we lose the sat locals there. The cottage Hopper does get the locals well with an OTA antenna though, so we can still tell it to record network programming that we would otherwise miss while under way. I'd suggest telling Dish you want two Hoppers in your house and then relocating one to your RV yourself. You may have to purchase the second Hopper from Dish or a dealer though, to have it activated on your existing account. There are several online Dish dealer sources with reasonable prices.


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > One Dish Hopper at home and another in the MH?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS