RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Using Bluetooth on Phone & Computer?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Using Bluetooth on Phone & Computer?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
emzee

california

Senior Member

Joined: 10/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/12 02:30pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does anyone do bluetooth to get internet on their computer. I have a droid 2, it's older and I have PdaNet, and love it. My dh has a Samsung 4G new phone. I downloaded PdaNet and it won't work like it does on my phone. It takes you to this page asking for you to pay for internet through verizon. Sooo verizon has messed up our little way to get on the internet with the new phones, near as I can see. PdaNet said to use FoxFi and to download it through the pdanet web sight. Did that and the phone will work through BlueTooth Dun.

My question is, has anyone done this and will it be charged to our phone?? We pay the $29.99 a month for data-internet and hardly use it, we want to use it now while we're away. Having it on the computer makes it easier to see and much more enjoyable.

I hope I have explained my query satisfactorily, bit confusing isn't it. I don't think I will ever be able to get a new phone now that I know new ones won't let pdanet work.

2oldman

Nashville TN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/12 03:00pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

emzee wrote:

My dh has a Samsung 4G new phone. I downloaded PdaNet and it won't work like it does on my phone. It takes you to this page asking for you to pay for internet through verizon.
If dh's phone has a hotspot can you use that?

I used to use Bluetooth, ages ago with ATT and an old Motorola clamshell phone. Slower than molasses. I think the days of PdaNet are about over.

emzee

california

Senior Member

Joined: 10/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/12 03:39pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am using his bluetooth right now, however it's a lot more convoluted to get internet than mine on bluetooth. My phone has a "send file" or connect to network icon next to the name....(up there where the bluetooth icon is) my dh phone just says, "send file"...I have to get bluetooth in the system preferences on my mac. Hard to explain the differences but they have really made it difficult.

Appreciate the input. Btw hotspots are $20 more a month, over and above the $30 each we already pay and hardly use.

docj

Fulltime--Home is where we park it

Senior Member

Joined: 07/13/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 08/07/12 04:04pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you use FoxFi you should not be charged the Verizon hotspot fee.


Sandie & Joel

2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton--425 HP/1550 ft-lbs CAT C-12
2014 Honda CR-V AWD EX-L with ReadyBrute tow bar/braking system
WiFiRanger Ambassador/RVParkReviews administrator
Follow our adventures on Facebook at Weiss Travels


2oldman

Nashville TN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/12 04:12pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

emzee wrote:

Btw hotspots are $20 more a month, over and above the $30 each we already pay and hardly use.
Yes, but they work.

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 08/07/12 04:47pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

having trouble with a new phone is Not uncommon
it sometimes takes a few days or weeks for a popular piece of soft ware to be updated
where it will work
i understand wanting to use the faster 4g samsung for the internet connection
but can't the DH laptop connect to your iphone

saving $20 on a regular bassis is great

But If the connection use is too big a hassle and spoils the some of the fun and relaxation of going on a trip, maybe paying the $20 fee for one month is the better idea

Hotspot is feature you can turn it on , then turn it off after the trip

PDAnet does cable tether and Bluetooth dun 'dial up networking'

FoxFi does WiFi hotspot

hotspot is the only one that will allow more than One Connected device

you cannot Bluetooth two PC's to the phone at the same time

you can cable tether the phone to a windows pc, then open network sharing and share that connection with another computer via the wifi of the pc
win7 has it built in and a program called 'connectify' does it for win XP

* This post was edited 08/07/12 05:18pm by MrWizard *


Options, always have options, and the journey goes much smoother
....

Connected thru Verizon with HotSpot WiFi using a Samsung Galaxy Nexus


emzee

california

Senior Member

Joined: 10/22/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/07/12 07:31pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mr Wizard, I have a feeling Verizon has messed up the new phones so people can't use them with Pdanet. I am on my droid 2 older phone right now with pdanet, good speed and love it. Can't use it with dh's android 4g samsung. phone??? Any info on this?

strollin

San Martin, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 06/12/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/08/12 07:17am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a fairly new Droid Razr 4G phone that has been updated to the latest ICS version which is 4.0.4 and PdaNet still works fine with it.

What model Samsung phone does your hubby have? The latest is the Galaxy S3 and people are reporting success using PdaNet on that phone.

Did you remember to change the setting to allow USB Debugging which is required for PdaNet to work?

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 08/08/12 09:01am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

its not verizon its the samsung phone
samsung has installed the blocking on glaxaxy S3 phones to block FoxFi on sprint and other carriers
if you get it working do Not update the phone

i made a big post that did not go thru trying agsin with this short post

2oldman

Nashville TN

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/08/12 10:08am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

emzee wrote:

, I have a feeling Verizon has messed up the new phones so people can't use them with Pdanet.
If pdaNet is a way to avoid data charges, then I don't blame them. Sort of like downloading free music.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Using Bluetooth on Phone & Computer?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS