|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

> Fifth Wheel Tire Pressure Monitors

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Road Runners

Tampa Bay, Florida

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 04/15/02 03:01pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have been thinking about installing tire pressure monitors in the wheels of my 5th wheel for a while now. Over the years I have had some bad experiences with tires. It only took me four Goodyear Marathon failures to realize it was the tires and not me. Recently a Firestone tire failed on my new 5th wheel with a bit over 3000 miles on it. I don't mind the tire failure near as bad as the secondary damage that is done when the tire fails.

I always watch my tire pressure, but it seems most of the tires fail just after I have given my tires a safety check (give em a bit of knock with a tire hammer) at a service station or rest area. It would be nice to catch the tire beginning to fail before the bad stuff actually happens. You usually know a tire has gone flat when you see rubber flying in the rear view mirror.

Now my question. Has anyone installed or seen installed the Roadmaster tire monitors that camping world now has in their catalog. In particular, I am curious to see how the tire pressure low indicator light would mount on the front of the fifth wheel without a lot of unsightly wires showing.

I am open to any and all information in this matter of tire pressure monitoring....

Chris

Shelter Bay, Wa

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 04/15/02 06:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator