|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> What weight oil

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
pulsar

Lewisville, NC

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 05/23/02 09:06pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The Workhorse manual says 5W-30 is the preferred oil for the 8.1 L Chevy engine. I've never used that weight before. What is the wisdom of the forum?

Would you switch to a synthetic oil on the first oil change? If so, which one? Please keep in mind that we have to get the oil changed in "far off places" as we travel in the northern US and Canada during the summer.

Thanks in advance for your opinions and suggestions.

Tom & Sarah

2015 Meridian 36M
2006 CR-V toad

Have you seen the RV.Net Blogs? You can subscribe at Blog.RV.Net

LVJ58

Las Vegas, Nevada

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 05/23/02 09:59pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pulsar, Our 2000 V-10 also calls for 5w-30 oil one reason is better fuel economy and the other is the newer computer assembled engines have closer tolerances. Regarding a change to synthetic, the Ford V-10 engine takes 7 to 10 thousand miles before it's completely broken in. Don't know about the 8.1 vortec. I waited until I had 13,000 miles before I switched to Mobile 1 Synthetic and stayed with the 5w-30.

Good luck, C. Jim

Jim & Sherry Seward
Las Vegas, NV
2000 Residency 3790 V-10 w/tags & Banks System
2003 Suzuki XL/7 toad

Kenneth

Washington, the state

View Profile

Posted: 05/23/02 10:48pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator