Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Alpenlite or Lance ???

Posted By: CPA on 01/29/02 05:21pm

Hi,
I'm new to truck campers but after looking at just about every one made I have narrowed my search to either Alpenlite or Lance. Is there much difference in construction quality or reputation in the market place between these two? Is one decidedly better? Is resale of one better than the other? I'd sure appreciate any helpful comments before I take the plunge. Thanks for any help. CPA

Posted By: Fulltimer50 on 01/29/02 07:44pm

Hope you have a big truck to carry them. They are both heavy.

George

2011 F350 PSD CC LB 4X4 DRW Lariate
2013 Lifestyle LS37RESL 5th Wheel

Posted By: Buddcop on 01/30/02 10:45pm

CPA,
We were in the same boat as you and finally ended up ordering a Lance 1030. From everything I've read they are both quality units, but the Lance was more open with the bath to the rear. We thought the bed area was too closed in/that being in the Alpenlite. We probably shopped at the same dealers that you did, but ended up in NY after a lengthy search for the right price and dealer. I guess it all comes down to what you want. Dollar for dollar I believe the Lance to be a better buy with a similar Alpenlite costing well over $3000.00 more. This I could not justify. Good luck and enjoy what you get. You realy can't go wrong either way.And yes,they are both heavy--but what hardwalled slide in isn't.
Bud

Posted By: BigWave on 02/02/02 12:00pm

Hi

We were in the same boat afew months ago deciding between Alpenlite and Lance.only used (1-3 years old). We ended up with an Alpenlite Laramie LS 850. Bothe units were nice but the Alpenlite seemed a little bigger on the inside and we found a good deal on the Alpelite model we were looking for.
We have been vary happy with it so far and I am extreamly impressed with the quality of the unit.

BW

Posted By: kblackav8or on 02/24/02 08:13pm