|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class C Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class C Motorhomes

> Overview of power

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
rxsrule

Patchogue NY

View Profile

Posted: 03/29/06 05:56am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am a newbie...getting my Tioga 23E in a month.. I am being overloaded with info..I fear I am "lost in the trees but dont see the forest"

So.... how about an overview..

When I am not hooked up to "shore power", what can I run with my propane, my battery, my generator or comination thereof?

When I am hooked up, what runs off the "shore power" and what doesnt?

pdoucet

MA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 03/29/06 06:22am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When hooked to shore power in most cases the generator is disconnected from the coach and you can not run anything off of it. If your water heater is only gas then that will run off your propane as will your stove. While unhooked your generator will take the place of the shore line giving you the ability to run all the 120V items just as if you were plugged in. That is items like your microwave, air conditioner, TV etc. It will also power your converter which charges your house battery for thing such as the lights which are all 12V DC.

Pierre

rockhillmanor

On the Road

View Profile

Posted: 03/29/06 06:27am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you are buying new, you will be given a walk thru by the dealership.
My advice is to bring your significant other to this walk thru AND a video camera. You won't remember it all, you can then watch the video when you encounter a problem.

In regards to your questions: