RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Smells like a scam--what do you think?
RV Community | RV News & Reviews | RV Sales | Plan a Trip | RV Clubs & Services | RV Camping DealsRV.net
Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next
stevelv

FullTimers at Last!

Senior Member

Joined: 05/24/2006

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:30am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The Texan wrote:

Not everyone in the United states speaks or write perfect English, as some seem to think everyone should. This person appears to live in Cajun country and may very well be of French decent, so English would not be his strong point. The ad sounds legit to me and if you get a VIN to run and checkout with the LA authorities, then you should have your answer.


You have gotta be kidding!

That's so obviously a scam on so many levels.

The next step is that the OP suggest a meeting and the scammer will ask for a deposit 'in good faith' sent as cash via Western Union.

It's been repeated over and over again so please don't suggest it's anything else as you may persuade someone to fall for it.


RV Park Finder
Fulltimers
2002 Beaver Santiam 38DST + Banks + 99 Jeep GC
DH,DW,Jake and Indie

Cottontop

Vancouver, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 11/02/2002

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:31am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You live in Vinton LA and the M/Motor home is in Lafayette LA about 60 miles go look at it sounds like a good deal.

mgh122

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 10/31/2006

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:35am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This scam was already reported on. His next move will be to ask for a good faith deposit to insure he doesn't have to get stood up again. That's when he'll try to set the hook and reel you in.


Mike & Peg
Aint' life grand!!
'05 Discovery 39S
'04 Grand Cherokee Freedom, M&G, Roadmaster Sterling
http://discovery-on-the-road.blogspot.com/
Zeus the Wonder Dog
"makes you wonder doesn't he"


fourfurz

Memphis

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2008

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 09:37am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This is a well known scam. You'll be asked to send a money order to WU in your name to some place, meet him at the airport, etc. Bottom line: you'll lose your money and not get the coach.

"If a deal seems too good to be true, it probably is." - USPS Postmaster

I reported it to the security department at RVTrader. Hopefully they will remove this before anyone is hurt.


2007 Mountain Aire 4528
2006 CRV SE
Based in Memphis area


mpfireman

Cook County Il

Senior Member

Joined: 12/26/2003

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Interesting responses. Some are sure it is a SCAM, while others think this motor-home it is a good deal. I for one go to the SCAM side, I think he is phishing, in other word, just looking for an easy mark.
if you start asking to many questions, they will move on to there next easier victim.
Ken


1998.5 Dodge Ram Quad Cab Cummins
1998 Sunnybrook 27RKFS Fiver

fordsooperdootydieselsmoker

OrangeCountyCalifornia

Senior Member

Joined: 08/13/2004

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sorry! Don't bother with this ad, as yesterday I bought it! I put a $3500.00 deposit on it by direct wire transfer, and will be picking it up on Friday. I haven't heard from the owner since I sent the money, but I tracked down his home address by running his web address. I also finally found Dasab Airline, which fly's directly to Nigeria...now I just have to figure out how to drive my new RV back to the US!

box710

albany ny

Full Member

Joined: 03/04/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 09:57am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

this guy whoever uses the same line on everyone. Come on do you really believe that you could buy that rig for 34k. I reported this guy two years ago to rv trader. If people refuse to contact you by phone always be suspicious

robatthelake

Vancouver Island

Senior Member

Joined: 08/24/2003

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 10:00am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This old Horse Trade has been going on for over 2 years!It is a total Scam and obviously, for Him or Her to keep repeating it there must be Some Suckers out there that actually forward the Deposit!

DO NOT FALL FOR IT!


Rob & Jean 90 Southwind John Deere/Oshkosh/Freightliner Class A Ford 460/ Toad 92 Tracker 2 wd 5sp Convert Still running Great!

" Everything in it"Still" Works"


Rollincool

Always Rollin

Senior Member

Joined: 08/10/2007

View Profile


Posted: 07/29/08 10:43am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

CurtisG wrote:

After responding to a posting on rvtraderonline this is the response I received by email:
"Thank you so much for your response and for your interest in buyin my motorhome.
Yes, I still have it for sale.
Price is $34,000.00, a full fuel tank for your way back home included too.
It is stored inside, in Lafayette.
Title is clear, on my name. No lien on it.
No accidents, leaks, damages, or any other issues. It is very well maintained and extremely clean.
30k miles on it, still under warranty.
You can view more pictures here:

http://www.ephotospace.com/seeya/ViewPhotos.aspx?cid=6604&pid=1


It is a 2004 38' See Ya Diesel Pusher With 2 Slide Outs
By Alfa Model M-36 FD
Freightliner Chassis
3126 CAT 330 HP Turbocharged Diesel Engine
6 Speed Allison Transmission
Washer & Dryer Combo
All Equipment Works Excellent.
Coach Looks, Runs, Drives And Handles Excellent.
Exterior & Interior Are In Excellent Condition." and this one:
"Thank you for your fast response.
The rig has been in my family since new, it was my father's, he passed
away and I owe it.
I have the title clear, on my name.
I am in the military, I cannot take care of the rig as my father did,
I have some debts to pay fast, I also signed a 6 months contract for
Afghanistan and will be leaving there in less than a month, so I am
selling it.
I can take 5 days off and meet you, see the rig and papers, test drive
it, inspect it at a service or dealership and if as expected, we close
the deal.
Also, please excuse me if I won't be able to response immediate to
your emails or calls, but I work 80 plus a week and cannot take calls
during work or get access to my email.
Anyway, you have my word that I will try to do my best to make things
work out between us.
I can be in Lafayette in a 2 days notice, so we can set up a meeting
at your proposal.
I would also like to fly up there one day before, so I can prepare
everything and to pick you up form the airport.
Just please let me know your answer for sure, because I have to take a
permit in order to leave the base and do not wish to make the trip for
nothing, as I did 2 weeks ago, when the buyer did not even show up to
our meeting. When I called him, he just mentioned that his loan was
not approved and he is unable to buy my rig.
My # is 3372050149, as I mentioned, I may not be able to take any
calls during work, if so please email me all your requests and will
respond as soon as I have access to ym email."

As I have always heard--if it sounds to good to be true-beware

Curt





2008 Chevy Silverado 4x4 3500 RC/LB 6.0
2007 Chevy GS Conquest Super C 6340DK
2007 Chevy HHR Toad 2LT 2.4
1990 Chevy G20 Cargo Van 305
1967 Chevy Camaro Pro Street 468/650hp BBC

My 70's Show - Tom Kent Radio Network - KLTH - K•HiTS 106.7



mwitt58714

New Jersey

Full Member

Joined: 03/15/2007

View Profile

Offline
Posted: 07/29/08 11:06am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

this person might be in the Reserves and has voluntered for a 6 month recall it is possible.
.
Retired military ...

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 6  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Smells like a scam--what do you think?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2008 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS