RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Roof Air unit not working

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Roof Air unit not working

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
vladen

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 09:43pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think you said your switch had three positions wonder if yours is supposed to be in the "off" positiion for the gen


Vlad's busy workings

All hope is gone



jimco205

Central Alabama

New Member

Joined: 05/31/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 10:19pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

not sure, will have to check it tomorrow.

old guy

Oregon (pronounced Or e gun)

Senior Member

Joined: 03/15/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 10:23pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

by pass the switch to see if it's the switch

vladen

Louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 09/11/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 10:38pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

well next would be check if its getting power in the line. You might can pull the cover and filters off on the inside and see a regular plug in that you can just unplug the AC and plug a light in and see if your getting power at least that far. Then you could actually blame the AC itself.

Tinstar

McKinney, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 09/13/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/21/12 11:18pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Typically a start capacitor is the cause of one quitting like that. You can troubleshoot like others have said but if it doesn't work go to the roof and take the A/C shroud off. Look for a couple of capacitors that might look something similar to ONE OF THESE. Mine are about your model year vintage and they are silver about 4 inches tall and round. Two heavy wires go to each one. If a capacitor is bulging it is likely bad but might be bad and not bulging. WARNING!!!! WARNING!!!! WARNING!!!! A capacitor stores electricity to start the motor so it may be CHARGED and it will hurt you if you touch the poles. DON'T TOUCH unless you know how to discharge the capacitor

They are cheap and easily replaced.


Never pass up a chance to go somewhere

1995brave

San Antonio, TX

Senior Member

Joined: 01/24/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/22/12 05:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First thing to check is your circuit breakers. Turn them all off and then back on, don't forget the generator. One of them is for the front air conditioner.

teleman2

melbourne

New Member

Joined: 12/20/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/22/12 05:54am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Are you using the gen. for ac? If so do any outlets have power If not check the breaker on the gen. There are 2 breakers on the gen. one controls the power for the rv. plus front ac . the other controls the rear ac.

Scott & Jill

USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/03/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 02/22/12 09:03am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Are you trying to run both AC's at the same time or indivisibly some units you can only run one at a time? And are you running from generator or outlet.


Life is too short; enjoy it the best way possible


jones4110

Champlin, MN

Senior Member

Joined: 01/14/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/22/12 10:54am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

X2 on capacitor


Joan and Bruce
05 Excursion 39L
powered by 350 KittyCATS on a Spartan
2010 Traverse LT toad (Blue Ox & Breakbuddy)
...and a "road dog" named Max and his gabby sister, Abby.
"May the wind be always at your back and your destination the one you chose"


gvisnic

Littleton Co

Full Member

Joined: 03/29/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/22/12 10:45pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We had a similar problem with our ac and it turned out to be a bad thermostat. Replaced and everythign was a-ok. Had to have a service tech check it out for us.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

 > Roof Air unit not working
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS