RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Question on house wiring

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Question on house wiring

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
OnaQuest

Old enough to be a

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 06/12/12 06:26am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't believe the number of people here who say "sure, go ahead", "you will be okay", "no problem", it's done all the time".

It's not only against code, but it's stupidly unsafe on many levels.

Just remember that the next Jack-leg, wanna-be electrician, to stumble upon your money saving kludge may not know exactly why you put two wires on every connection (even if he accidentally figures out that's what you have done).
Assuming he has your same level of electrical safety knowledge, he'll probably separate the wires and think he has the makings of TWO perfectly good 30amp circuits.

Also remember, the components that you will be working with (i.e. receptacles, plugs, breakers, etc..) are not made for safe and solid connection of multiple wires of that size.

Just my, not so humble, opinion.

QuietWater

Kansas City, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 10/15/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/12/12 07:47am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Going with the more cautious of the group, I have dropped the idea of using two wires. I'll go see how much Home Depot wants to drain my bank account for #8 wire. I know 75ft won't be cheap. Thank you for all your responses. I appreciate each one of them.
Dan


Daniel Miller
1984 Holiday Rambler Imperial
1982 Tioga Arrow Class C

MrWizard

Traveling

Moderator

Joined: 06/27/2004

View Profile



Posted: 06/12/12 08:56am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

it is done on "service" entry, high amp transformer wiring etc
each leg has the wires bundled taped and color coded and then pulled thru the conduit

it is Not legal using romex in a residential setting

I have never seen it done between a circuit breaker and an outlet of any type

I have seen it between switch gear and machine tool input , again taped bundled and color coded

below a certain amp size (100 or more my memory elludes me) it is not legal in any situation


Options, always have options, and the journey goes much smoother
....

Connected thru Verizon with HotSpot WiFi using a Samsung Galaxy Nexus


aruba5er

Neenah Wisconsin

Senior Member

Joined: 11/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/12/12 08:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I often wondered why the NATIONAL FIRE PREVENTION ASSOCIATION exists. They are the authors of the National Electrical Code. In the CODE it says you can NOT parallel wires or size 0 or less. There MUST be a reason. They just didn't grab a number and want to waste ink. Too many I THINK I CAN electricans or want a be's. 5 year apprenticeship 4 hour state test. Countless hours on the job and YOU think you can. The next post will be HELP someone hooked my camper up to 230 volts. Serves you right.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Question on house wiring
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS