RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Generator and 6v batteries?

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> Generator and 6v batteries?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
shelby17

Home

View Profile

Posted: 06/15/12 06:56pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am fairly new to Class A's and Generators, etc. I have a 35' Bounder with an Onan 7000 Marquis generator in the furthest drivers side compartment. The coach batteries are two 6 volt batteries in a drivers side compartment closest to the front. A couple of questions I have 1) Why are the coach batteries two 6 volts , and not two 12 Volts or even one 12 volt.
2) I took my multimeter and tested both batteries not cranking and they were 6.18 each, is that really enough battery power to easily start the generator? I believe I hear the inverter every time I start the coach, but still have yet to find it. Do I need to charge both 6 volt batteries, they seem to really work if at all to start this Generator.

Obviously I am not an electrical guy.

Cheers

YC 1

Yuba City Calif./ Auburndale Florida

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 06/15/12 07:21pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator