RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: TIRE DANGER!! Please Read!!

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> TIRE DANGER!! Please Read!!

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next
Sponsored By:
dougmac

Washington State

View Profile

Posted: 06/19/12 12:24pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I make my living training bus mechanics. The curriculum that I teach includes a tire safety class. There is some very important information that ALL people that operate medium and heavy-duty steel cord radial tires should know. Most likely this type of tire is what you are using on your motor home.

IF THE PROPER PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN WHEN INFLATING THESE TIRES, THEY CAN EXPLODE AND KILL YOU.

Medium and heavy-duty steel cord radial tires differ from passenger and light duty truck tires because the sidewalls are reinforced with steel cords. Passenger car and light duty truck tires usually have nylon or polyester sidewall cord material and do not use steel in the sidewall. If you are not sure of the sidewall construction, it is printed on the side of the tire.