RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Truck Campers: Actual Loaded Truck Weights Requested...

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Truck Campers

Open Roads Forum  >  Truck Campers

> Actual Loaded Truck Weights Requested...

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
chipgreens

CALIFORNIA

View Profile

Posted: 06/27/12 07:32pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Another newbie here and we're interested in joining the TC world. We have been researching as much as we can the past few months however we're stuck doing the GVWR/payload calculations for each truck/camper combo we're interested in.

The problem is we do not have a truck or a camper yet so it's hard to get a realistic figure. Many people in the forum and on other sites (TC Mag) recommend choosing a camper first but even going that route we still need the actual truck weight loaded (passengers, gas, cargo, etc) to determine if it would carry the camper under the GVWR.

I understand the general calculation should be:

GVWR - Actual Truck weight (LOADED) = Available #s for a wet, loaded camper

The formula may be more complicated when considering front/rear axle capacity, etc but I'm just hoping to get a general figure. There is also a lot of information about how to increase performance using sway bars, air bags, leafs but if I understand correctly the GVWR is the GVWR. No changes made, is that right? So although I'm interested in adding accessories/options to the truck later, my main goal is to come under the GVWR.

Here are the truck options I'm interested in:

2011 or later