RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: AHHHH!!!! PLEASE HELP!

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > AHHHH!!!! PLEASE HELP!

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
bwhat

eARTh

New Member

Joined: 07/21/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 04:43pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ok, so.
I have an 07' keystone laredo 26.5 ft fifth wheel.
I've never owned anything like this before.
I have it parked at an RV park with all the hook ups, gas, water, and electricity.
everything works fine.... except the electric.
I've paid the electric company for service, they say everything should be working fine.
Supposedly there is electricity going to the meter and to the outlet.
When i purchased this trailer, they had it plugged up and everything was working fine.
They even did a "PDI" check on it. aka making sure everyyyyyything works.

It is working off of battery power at the moment, but that's not enough to run the ac.
and its 103 here in texas, so i'm in desperate need of some advice on how to make this thing work.
i've checked all fuses, everything checks out....
what i'm wondering is, is there a switch in my trailer that switches where it draws power from.
so instead of the battery it draws from the electric hook up.
i cant seem to think of any other answer.
if you know please help!!!!
i'm about to die of a heat stroke!

dupreet

High Point, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 08/03/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/21/12 04:50pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Couple things

- is the 50a breaker in the campground power box switched on?

- do you have a generator? If so, you might have a manual switch box, or a cord to go from shore power to genny power.

- the camper will have a breaker box...check they are on.

I am guessing it's at the campground box. It is customary to turn the breaker on/off there before you plug in, or unplug, to keep from arcing.

Todd


Todd

1993 Ford E-350 pushed by a 1988 Wilderness 24' TT

100ton

Huntington Beach, California

Senior Member

Joined: 05/08/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 04:58pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Check your AC breakers in the 5th wheel. They are probably located with your 12 volt fuses. Also check to see if any of your 110 outlet GFI's have tripped. You will see the TEST/RESET buttons on the outlet. If you find a tripped breaker, turn it all the way off, then back on.

I hope this helps. Let us know what you find out.

Robert
Huntington Beach, California

bwhat

eARTh

New Member

Joined: 07/21/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 04:59pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you for the feedback!
I will let you know what i find out.

kalynzoo

Los Angeles , California

Senior Member

Joined: 12/30/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 04:59pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yup, probably the breaker on the power poll is off. I always turn mine off before connecting or disconnecting, just to be safe. You also might have a switch or an actual plug that has to be connected in the power inlet to the RV.
This is a good time to meet your neighbors. I am sure they will be more than happy to give you the benifit of their years of RVing. Really.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/21/12 05:00pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Start at the outlet where you have the power cord plugged in.....got power there?

Then check that you have power at the other end of your power cord......got power there?

Then check if you have power inside rig inside power panel....got power there?

You have two (2) electrical systems.......110V AC and a 12V DC
Some things run on AC (TV, radio, water heater if it has electric element, fridge which also runs on propane, A/C unit, microwave & converter)
Some things run on DC....furnace fan, fridge & water heater controls, lighting, water pump, slides, landing gear).

The power panel will have two sides.....AC with circuit breakers just like in a house
AND fuses which are for the various DC circuits.
Your converter will also recharge the batteries when you have AC power source.

Check inside power panel for MAIN AC Breaker....make sure it is on.


2007 RAM 3500 QC LB SRW 5.9L CTD 48re 4:10 4K in bed 'quiet genny'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
Hit the Road Debt Free & Clear April '07
Came off the road still Debt Free & Clear Jan. '14


bwhat

eARTh

New Member

Joined: 07/21/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 05:10pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

all breakers are on, and all fuses look to be intact.
I just used my voltmeter to check the meter, the outlet, the power cord, and the ac unit, and all have power.

this is really blowing my mind.....

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 07/21/12 05:20pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bwhat wrote:

all breakers are on, and all fuses look to be intact.
I just used my voltmeter to check the meter, the outlet, the power cord, and the ac unit, and all have power.

this is really blowing my mind.....


ALL have power.....how did you check that A/C unit had power if it isn't running?

Can you swap your fridge to AC, does your microwave turn on, does your TV turn on?

If you have AC power and your A/C unit isn't turning on does your thermostat work? Can you turn A/C unit fan 'on' in manual....does it run?
If fan runs in manual then T-stat is not working or A/C unit compressor isn't running.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/21/12 05:53pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

This involves a bit of work often some guess work

You have checked the plug, and I gather your cord has an OUTLET end and you checked it..

Now you need to know where power goes next.. IF you haee a generator odds are you have an automatic transfer switch.. Check the shorew power in and the LOAD leads.

Now go to the breaker and check the main breakers (IF it is a 50 amp rig you have two) should show 240 volt between them and 120 between either black wire and the white wires.

Cycle the breaker, even if it's on turn it OFF and back on.

Now check for power to the bus, You may need to remove one or two breakers (They usually just tip out toward you) and touch the bus with your probe, NOTE that you are working with hot wires (LIVE) so be very careful, Bus to whit should be 120 volts.

Replace the breaker you tipped out, and cycle all branch breakers

Check for 120 volts on each screw.

NOW: Many RVers have a few screws loose, Ones I have tightened include

The outlet on the power cord, not one screw inside was tight, the thing came off in my hand (not my trailer though)

The iNLET They were tightened, jsut not tight enough

Several of the screws in the breaker box

You do this,, With the power off.

If you have an EMS (Energy management System) I can't help you with those,

Surge Guards are another source of frustration on occasion, They insist on good power voltages and some parks are,, not so good.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


rockhillmanor

On the Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/06/2003

View Profile



Posted: 07/21/12 09:13pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

bwhat wrote:

all breakers are on, and all fuses look to be intact.
I just used my voltmeter to check the meter, the outlet, the power cord, and the ac unit, and all have power.this is really blowing my mind.....


Don't just look at them, shut each and every one off and then back on.

The breaker can trip but not all the way and just looking at them they look fine. You NEED to always shut the all off and back on again.

Do that to the switch on the shore station outlet too. AND check the 15 amp plug in that should be below your 30amp, those have GFI's and depending how some non-electrician wired the box that button could be tripped and shutting the box off.

I'd run my cord over to the next shore station and try it, to positively eliminate its not your shore station. P.S. make sure you turn all the breakers and check gfi over there too!

AND I just have to ask.....is the meter dial at your site spinning around?


"Live life like it's your last day.
One day you will be right."


This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > AHHHH!!!! PLEASE HELP!
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS