RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Rewire Transfer Switch?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Rewire Transfer Switch?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
mena661

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/18/12 11:02pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Seems my TS is wired for the generator as the default. So when I fire up the inverter (or when I'm on shore power), the TS is energized. Would it be a bad idea to swap the gen and shore inputs?


2009 Newmar Canyon Star 3205, Ford F53 V10
Trojan L16 6V's 740 Amp-hours


ronfisherman

SE Michigan

Moderator

Joined: 06/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 04:27am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Usually generator input to transfer switch has a delay to allow generator to get running up to speed before transfer switch turns on input from generator. You would not have this delay if you changed the wiring.


2004 Gulf Stream Endura 6340 D/A
TST tire pressure monitor system
2012 Chevy Captiva Toad
Kodiak Chassis Class C Forum


dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 07:02am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mena661 wrote:

Seems my TS is wired for the generator as the default. So when I fire up the inverter (or when I'm on shore power), the TS is energized. Would it be a bad idea to swap the gen and shore inputs?


Explain your hook up BETTER. Are you stating that you use an INVERTER AND Shore Power???? The TS is energized ANYTIME you have 120 current either from Shore or APU. Normally when you state DEFAULT, that means the supply(APU or Shore) immediately supplies power to the RV. The DELAY (about 45 seconds) is the other source. Almost all TS, the delay side is the APU, with Shore as the default. Most TS boxes have a toggle switch (kind of hidden) that will switch the primary and the delay from one to the other without swapping wires.
So, what is it you would like to do? Doug

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 08:21am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi mena,

You could move to a manual transfer switch.

How many watts does the transfer switch "eat"? I know my 12 volt solenoids each draw 0.83 amps @ 12 volts or about ten watts.


Regards, Don
Full Time in a Kustom Koach Class C 28'5", 256 watts Unisolar, 875 amp hours in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 2500 MSW watt inverter.

mena661

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 09:08am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ronfisherman wrote:

You would not have this delay if you changed the wiring.
Yep, that's what I was afraid of. PT, I like the automatic switch.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 09:12am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi mena,

I could live with 10 watts of "loss" from the ATS. It probably means the inverter can't go to "sleep" though, so it might cost a few more watts.

Once you go solar it won't matter much at all.

Chris Bryant

DeLand, Florida, USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 08/19/12 09:47am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

mena661 wrote:

ronfisherman wrote:

You would not have this delay if you changed the wiring.
Yep, that's what I was afraid of. PT, I like the automatic switch.


You will never have a delay on the default though, as it is always connected.


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 11:04am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If the switch is between Generator and SHORE, no, the switch performs two functions one of which is to give the generator time to stablize before it transfers... Plus that is how you want it to work.

If the switch is between INVERTER/OTHER, then OTHER goes to the generator input and INVERTER to shore

This would give (with two switches in series) the following truth table

Generator is priority 1 (If it is running it is working,,, Why run it if it's not needed?)

SHORE is priority 2 (Why use inverter if shore power present)

INverter is the court of last resort. (Runs down batteries fast)


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


3 tons

CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 11:08am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Assuming that your inverter is not a 'pass-thru' type, you could add a second cascading ATS for the inverter as follows:

1) Genny ATS output goes to both the main panel and to the inverter ATS.
2) Second ATS inputs are genny/shore IN, and inverter IN.
3) Second ATS output can go to a plug or appliance of your choosing, or to a seperate sub-panel for select 'inverter only' circuit operation (e.g. when shore or genny power are not present). Note, that this sub-panel (with recepts and/or select appliances relocated from main) is active whether on shore or inverter power, but when on inverter only the second ATS prevents inverter backfeed to the main panel or elsewhere in the coach. You Sir now have a power sensing system that is fully automated.

Best Regards,

3 tons

ronfisherman

SE Michigan

Moderator

Joined: 06/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/19/12 03:01pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

3 tons wrote:

Assuming that your inverter is not a 'pass-thru' type, you could add a second cascading ATS for the inverter as follows:

1) Genny ATS output goes to both the main panel and to the inverter ATS.
2) Second ATS inputs are genny/shore IN, and inverter IN.
3) Second ATS output can go to a plug or appliance of your choosing, or to a seperate sub-panel for select 'inverter only' circuit operation (e.g. when shore or genny power are not present). Note, that this sub-panel (with recepts and/or select appliances relocated from main) is active whether on shore or inverter power, but when on inverter only the second ATS prevents inverter backfeed to the main panel or elsewhere in the coach. You Sir now have a power sensing system that is fully automated.

Best Regards,

3 tons

That's the configuration that I have. Adding a 30 amp transfer switch for inverter made system fully automatic. System also has a generator auto start for low batteries and high coach temperature.

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Rewire Transfer Switch?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2014 RV.Net | Terms & Conditions | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS