RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: HD Converter Boxes

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > HD Converter Boxes

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Castaic Lion

Santa Clarita, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 09/03/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/16/08 09:16am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't believe the number of units available.... Has anyone got an opinion (LOL) about which units appear to work best given an RV application? Do you have to have one for each tv, will they operate with the batwing signal boosters?
Should I just give up television and bring along a bunch ov DVD's?

dbbls

Arkansas

Senior Member

Joined: 09/29/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/16/08 09:32am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Don't believe I've ever seen a HD converter box. All I've ever seen are Digital converter boxes.

* This post was edited 11/16/08 12:49pm by dbbls *


2011 F-350 CC Lariat 4X4 Dually Diesel
2012 Big Country 3450TS 5th Wheel

OnaQuest

Old enough to be a

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 11/16/08 09:34am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First, they are not HD (high definition) converter boxes. They are DIGITAL SIGNAL converter boxes. They convert the digital signal back to analog so your old tv can receive it.


They will work with your current antenna and booster.

I like the zenith best. your mileage may vary.

ronfisherman

SE Michigan

Moderator

Joined: 06/05/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/16/08 09:51am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have installed several DTV boxes. They all work OK. But some have better controls. The ones sold at Wal-Mart have the fewest features. The best I have seen so far are the Digital Stream sold at Radio Shack. You will need one box for each TV in your RV.


2004 Gulf Stream Endura 6340 D/A SOLD
2012 Chevy Captiva Toad SOLD


baysalr1

Boones Mill,VA

Full Member

Joined: 09/29/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/16/08 10:15am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have both the Digital stream and the RCA unit. Both of these are top rated. Of the two I much prefer the RCA. Larger easy to use buttons on the remote and seems to be more user friendly. They work just fine with the booster and can feed more than one tv if you use a ant cable spliter which you are probably already using. Since all of these boxes only come with an IR remote, as long as you have line of sight from the remote to the converter it will operate both tvs (same cannel though).


Baysalr1
1993 36' Pace Arrow 8.3L DP
1993 36' Catalina SV - Quadrant II

"Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. " - Mark Twain

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/16/08 10:52am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We use an Artec T3A Pro with our bedroom TV, and it works fine for us with the batwing. Our living area TV has its own digital tuner, so no converter was needed there.


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


pdoucet

MA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/26/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 11/16/08 12:28pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You do need one for each TV. I got the DTVpal at Sears (marketed by Dish) and it works great. In my driveway with the batwing all the way down I get the Boston stations 30 miles away. If I go to analog passthru mode all I get is snow!


Pierre


TechWriter

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/16/08 12:48pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dbbls wrote:

Don't believe I've ever seen a HD converter box. All Ive ever seen are Digital converter boxes.

All converter boxes are digital.

Most convert boxes output SD (Standard Definition) TV & are intended to be connected to SD TVs.

However, there is at least one HD converter box made by Samsung.

But why would you buy an HD converter box?
- You don't need it if you're hooking up to a SD TV.
- You probably don't need it if your hooking it up to an HD TV -- because most HD TVs have built-in TV tuners, so you don't need a converter box with them.

If you want HD & have the $$$, skip the converter box & buy an LCD TV.


2004 - 2010 Part Timer (35’ 2004 National RV Sea Breeze 8341 gasser)
2010 - 2021 Full Timer (41’ 2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP)
2021 - ??? Part Timer (31’ 2001 National RV Sea View 8311 gasser)
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

SCVJeff

Santa Clarita, CA.

Senior Member

Joined: 07/28/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 11/16/08 01:44pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As Tom says, there ARE real HD converter boxes, the only difference is that they average about +$100 difference and are NOT covered under the converter coupon program.

I have lost count on how many boxes now in the office (for evaluation), but my two current favorites are the Digital Stream DTX9950, and the DTVPal. Both units are Pass-Thru, and a MUST HAVE. I have the Digital Stream in the RV because I really like the menu structure, but it runs hot and draws almost twice the power of the DTVPal. Also the DTVPal runs on a 5V wall-wort, so you can whip a simple 12 to 5V regulator and bypass the inverter. Since my TV's are both 110VAC that didn't really matter, although the extra current draw may sway me.


Jeff - WA6EQU
'06 Itasca Meridian 34H, CAT C7/350


rjf7g

Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 01/18/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 11/16/08 06:11pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't like the Insignia sold at Best Buy. I replaced it with a Magnavox from Wal-Mart and am getting much better results.


***********************************************
1999 American Cruiser Class B
2006 Palomino Puma 27FQ Bunkhouse
2007 Gulfstream Innsbruck 36FRS Park Trailer

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > HD Converter Boxes
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.