RV.Net Open Roads Forum: New Car/New PopUp What do I really need?

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Folding Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Folding Trailers

> New Car/New PopUp What do I really need?

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
scvwest

Chula Vista, CA

View Profile

Posted: 02/28/06 02:47pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am a newbie. I just bought a popup Fleetwood Highlander Niagara 3700# GVWT. I am going to tow it with a 2006 Nissan Pathfinder (6K towing)and want to know what I really need to make my trips successful. I am told that I need a brake control for my vehicle, is this true? I have an appt at an RV place tomorrow and they are quoting me $160 for the unit plus about 3 hours labor to install. I am also wondering if I need anything to prevent swaying? And one more thing...I have a 4-prong that I am having converted to a 7 prong flat to fit my needs on the trailer, I am assuming this should be done at the RV place also. Oh yeah...one more thing...I was surprised to discover my popup doesn't have a greywater tank. Any advise? Can this be installed?

KeninAZ

Prescott Valley, AZ

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 02/28/06 02:54pm Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For starters your 7 pin will be round, just so you know.
Your TV should be fairly heavy duty. I know your PU is heavier like mine but I would try it before I went to any sway controls. You may well not need it.
The 3 hours to install the 7 pin and brake control is a little excessive time wise.