Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: camping with the truck camper off the truck

Posted By: jewel2010 on 12/02/10 10:26am

I'm a newbie with a truck camper. If I take the camper off the truck during a camping trip, can I camp with it just supported by the jacs? I have a BIg Foot with a slide.

Posted By: janechucknicodemus on 12/02/10 11:07am

Although the size is a LOT different. We used to drop the camper off and go fishing, take aside trip .But I always had some blocks PLUS the side jacks.With wide 2x12 x1' long for under the jack.
You will get 50 different ideas, but what you may do is try it out at a small area first and then go for it.
Congrats on your NEWBE.[emoticon]

Posted By: 1GypsyRose on 12/02/10 11:14am

You will get many answers on this, but here's my 2 cents . . .

We always take the camper off the truck. We have a set of 4 jacks (bought at Wally World) that we use on the 4 corners of the "basement" of the TC. We have pieces of 2x4 cut to set between the jacks and camper. We also have a set of slide out jacks (2) for additional support and stability of the slide. I don't think you can be too cautious when it comes to supporting the camper. We lower the camper as low as possible and still be able to put the jacks under it.

We did use it a few times with no jacks and just felt it was too wobbly for my sense of comfort.

Enjoy and many happy and safe travels!

John & Debbie
Elmo & Titan - The Trucking Puppies

2010 Travel Lite 1000SLRX Truck Camper - "Our Lakehouse"
2002 Chevy Silverado 3500 DRW 4x4
2001 Bryant 232 - "It's Alright Now" - Found a good home
2009 Bryant 268 - "DebbaritaVille"

Our Adventures

Posted By: Less Stuff on 12/02/10 11:17am

Not all campers should be used off the truck on the jacks.
Check owners manual or manufacture for recommendations.

* This post was edited 12/02/10 11:32am by an administrator/moderator *

DG
Former user name: "Lots of Stuff"
2015 RAM 1500 V6 8 speed
Regular cab short bed 2 wheel drive.
Leer 180 Topper