|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes

> Four Down vs. Tow Dolly Cost

This Topic Is Closed  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 5  
Next
Sponsored By:
bhivetravels

Chattanooga

View Profile

Posted: 08/07/12 09:48am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've been batting this around for three months and can't come to a decision. I have a 4-down towable 05 Honda Element manual transmission. To put the necessary tow bar/brackets = $1300. Brakes run $600 - $1500 with installation. Easily this whole project will run me over $2000. On the other hand I can purchase a new 2012 STEHL Tow Dolly with electric brakes for $1250. Now am I wrong to think that 1.) less wear on Honda brakes 2.) less wear on Honda front tires and 3.) saves me at least $750 to begin with?

Jim and Monica
Maj. USAF Ret. -- High School Teacher Ret.
2007 Coachman Epic - 05 Honda Element
Full-Timing with Meiko and Marlie

winepress

Santa Barbara, CA

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 08/07/12 10:07am Link  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm sure you will get varied opinions, but I went through the same dilemma. I have a 2012 Explorer and was undecided as to go with 4 down or a dolly. The dolly was going to be cheaper. I talked with a lot of other campers and found that those who use a dolly say it is the best and those who tow 4 down said their method was the best. Never talked with anyone who regretted their method of towing.