Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Accuslide cable questions for a non handy person????

Posted By: yankeeslover on 07/15/14 12:29pm

i have a 2014 primtime tracer 2670.. it has one main slide for the dinette/sofa.. it uses the accuslide system.. warranty ran out in June..This is my first ever TT, so i am still a semi novice.. i am also the least handy person in the world..i seem to break what i try to fix or make things worse, so please remember this in your response.. also my camper is at a seasonal site about 2 hours from dealer...anyways.
Everything with the slide seems fine, atleast it opens and closes ok and it looks to have a great seal, but when i look at the cables outside the slide when extended, there are 4 total, two on the bottom and two on the top, one on each side of slide so a total of 4. each of the top cables seem to have some slack to them wheras the bottom cables are tight. Im not sure if i should attempt to fix anything here as everything seems to be working great..no issues..i open and close the slide weekly as i dont keep it open when im not at camp. If i were to fix this, how do I do this? is it easy? i tried looking in manual and it doesnt make much sense.. I emailed dealer and they said to leave it, that its normal..should I belive them? thank you again...

Posted By: Vulcaneer on 07/15/14 01:04pm

I believe your dealer is correct...Leave it the way it is.

The way the system works two cables pull going out and the other two pull coming in on each side. So while two are pulling the other two are a bit slack. And visa versa depending on direction of movement. So if you tighten the two loose ones when they need to go into action, they will be too tight.