RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Odometer Problems

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
DougNStacey

TX

New Member

Joined: 01/26/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/26/15 01:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I own a 2007 Allegro Bus. On a recent trip, I noticed that the digital odometer reading was extremely low. I verified that I was not looking at a Trip reading and that this was in fact the total miles. I also looked n the Freightliner Diagnostics module and it was also reading the same mileage as the odometer. Interesting, both of these indicators are still registering new miles as we drive.

With that, has anyone else experienced having your odometer re-zero like this? We have checked with both Freightliner and with Tiffin and have not been able to understand the cause. The Cummins ECM still has the true mileage but no one, to date, can tell me how to go about resyncing the ECM to the Freightliner module and odometer on the dash!?!?

Any suggestions from the forum??

Thanks,
Doug

donn0128

Pronounced Ore-gun

Senior Member

Joined: 04/21/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/26/15 02:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Who made the gage cluster? If it is a GM cluster they have had lots of issues. If not, I would guess a bad ground as the source of your problem.





RichNewcome

Mebane, NC

Full Member

Joined: 03/06/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/26/15 03:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

That happened to me this summer. Freightliner told me that nothing could be done. I just have to add the difference between the ECM mileage and the display mileage. I found it hard to believe but he said that's the way it is. He said if you replaced the display, you would start at zero miles.

msmith1199

Reno, NV

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/26/15 03:30pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mine did the same thing. Actually it has reset two different times now. I took it to Freightliner and they basically said it happens and there is nothing they can do about it. On mine they weren't even able to hook in to tell me what the real miles were. How were you able to read the ECM miles on yours?


2021 Nexus Viper 27V. Class B+
2019 Ford Ranger 4x4


RichNewcome

Mebane, NC

Full Member

Joined: 03/06/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/26/15 03:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm not home now so not near the MH were I can check for the correct terminology, but you go through several menu layers on the Freightliner display device. I have written down but not with me.

msmith1199

Reno, NV

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/26/15 03:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'll have to check the manual. The guy at Freightliner told me they would have to plug into the computer with some type of external device to read the miles. They didn't have the appropriate adapter in the shop at the time I was there to plug in. Next time I have to take it in I was going to check and see if they got the correct plug. But in the meantime I have a nice 10 year old motorhome with only about 3000 miles on the odometer!

crasster

Dallas

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/26/15 03:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Wonderful! Now we can sell coaches with wrong mileage legally! J/K That's kind of crazy because if people see different miles than that displayed that could heavily affect resell. Who is going to believe a salesman that states "yeah the miles are wrong, but the gages are fine, the real mileage is on the ECM". Most would say "thanks but no thanks". I wish they'd find a fix for this.


4 whopping cylinders on Toyota RV's. Talk about great getting good MPG. Also I have a very light foot on the pedal. I followed some MPG advice on Livingpress.com and I now get 22 MPG! Not bad for a home on wheels.


msmith1199

Reno, NV

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/27/15 01:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You sell any vehicle with the wrong mileage legally as long as you didn't intentionally change the mileage and as long as it's disclosed to the buyer that the miles on the odometer are not correct. California DMV even has a form for this as I'm sure most DMV's do.

RichNewcome

Mebane, NC

Full Member

Joined: 03/06/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/27/15 06:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

msmith1199 wrote:

Mine did the same thing. Actually it has reset two different times now. I took it to Freightliner and they basically said it happens and there is nothing they can do about it. On mine they weren't even able to hook in to tell me what the real miles were. How were you able to read the ECM miles on yours?


When I called the Freightliner hotline after mine reset, he talked me through the menu screens on the "Information Center". From the Home screen you select "Service". This is, at least on mine, for "Authorized Service use only" and you must enter a password. He gave me the password, which I don't think I should provide on a public forum. (It may not even be the same for yours.) I would think if you explained the problem to them, they would help you obtain the ECM value so you can determine the amount of error in the display. I'm not sure that all Freightliner service employees are aware of this procedure. As I remember, he seemed to have to do a little research as he talked me through it. Good luck.

msmith1199

Reno, NV

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/27/15 07:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It's about due a service so I'll take it back to Freightliner for that and see if they can't figure it out for me. Maybe the guy I got last time just didn't know that much about motorhomes.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2022 CWI, Inc. © 2022 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.