RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Honeywell RTH5100B Thermostat

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Honeywell RTH5100B Thermostat

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
2000_Kiwi

NC

Full Member

Joined: 04/12/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/16/15 01:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The thermostat upgrade is a very common upgrade and lots of information is available on this forum. I wanted to add the specific model I used for others that may be searching.

Honeywell RTH5100B 1025 Deluxe Manual Thermostat

I picked this specific model because it had the "automatic" switching between heat and a/c. In Spring and Fall the day and night temperatures can vary significantly.

This model is also battery operated so there is no need to power the unit separately; just make sure you keep extra batteries on hand. My next mod may be to take a variable voltage regulator (LM317) and connect it to the 7.5v supply provided for the Duo Therm and power my Honeywell.... But this is not a priority.

Please note that your wire colors may vary. With this configuration you will lose the HI/LO fan option. This will give high fan only.

There are other posts in this forum that will show you how to add a separate switch to maintain the dual fan settings.

The original analog Duo-Therm by Dometic
[image]

Duo-Therm Wiring
[image]

Honeywell Wiring
[image]

Honeywell Installed
[image]

Wiring Diagraim
[image]

It is important to note that you will need to follow the setup guide to select the correct parameters. For example: the auto feature where it switches between heat and cooling is disabled by default.

* This post was edited 03/16/15 01:11pm by 2000_Kiwi *

Dakota98

Idaho

Senior Member

Joined: 07/07/2014

View Profile



Posted: 03/16/15 04:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Installed mine last Spring.

By far, an improvement over the old one!!!

[image]


I'm an expert in only one field....I believe it's somewhere in Kansas.

2000 / 22' SKYLINE NOMAD LITE
1998 DODGE DAKOTA / 5.2L= 8mpg.
2006 POLARIS ATV
1500/1200 Watt Champion generator
Yada Wireless Back Up Camera
1998 Dyna Wide Glide
USMC 68-74


2000_Kiwi

NC

Full Member

Joined: 04/12/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/16/15 05:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dakota98 wrote:

Installed mine last Spring.

By far, an improvement over the old one!!!

[image]


Nice info/control center!

Fisherguy

Vancouver BC

Senior Member

Joined: 07/31/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/28/15 10:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

JUst wondering, you have the 2 'fan' wires both going to the same lug on the thermostat? If you only wantedthe high spped to work couldn't ou just vconnect the 'hi speed' wire?

If a person wanted the seperate switch for high and low he would wire the switch to that lug as common on the switch?

That seems pricey for a non prgrammable thermostat isn't it?


06 Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins 6 spd std with a few goodies.

2007 Komfort 274TS, SteadyFast stabilizers, Trimetric 2025RV, PD9280, Honda EU2000i, Xantrex SW600, shocks and EZ-Flex suspension, Reese Strait-Line
480 watts of solar


SoundGuy

S Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/11/2015

View Profile



Posted: 05/29/15 04:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Fisherguy wrote:

If a person wanted the seperate switch for high and low he would wire the switch to that lug as common on the switch?


Yes. Also make sure the switch has a centre off position and one can then start the A/C using a 2K genset and have the initial load the genset has to deal with reduced by the amount of load the fan would otherwise present ... once the compressor ramps up to speed, simply turn the A/C fan on. Works like a charm.

Quote:

That seems pricey for a non prgrammable thermostat isn't it?


~ $32 US or $50 Cdn is "pricey" for a thermostat that's such an improvement over any stock bi-metal thermo? [emoticon]


2012 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab
2014 Coachmen Freedom Express 192RBS
2003 Fleetwood Yuma * 2008 K-Z Spree 240BH-LX
2007 TrailCruiser C21RBH * 2000 Fleetwood Santa Fe
1998 Jayco 10UD * 1969 Coleman CT380

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/29/15 05:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

DuoTherm (Dometic) uses two relays for fan control on these boards- the brown fan lead switches power to the fan- this must be connected or the fan will not run. The blue high fan relay simply toggles between high and low fan, so you hook the brown wire to the new fan circuit, the blue wire will connect to this circuit via a simple switch to combine the two.


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Do It Yourself Modifications and Upgrades (DIY)

 > Honeywell RTH5100B Thermostat
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS