Open Roads Forum

Print  |  Close

Topic: Engine braking Gas Vs Diesel

Posted By: Keith Haw on 12/03/15 10:44pm

Just wondering why gas engines have better engine braking than diesel. No real reason, just wondering. With the higher compression of the diesel I would think that diesel would be better but understand it isn't. I know it was fairly good on the big trucks when I was a trucker.

Posted By: Old-Biscuit on 12/03/15 10:52pm

Simple reason

VACUUM

Gas engine controls air flow via throttle. When closed high vacuum is created in intake

Diesel engine controls fuel flow. No throttle no vacuum no engine breaking
Engine braking on diesel is done by 'Exhaust Brake' or a 'compression release brake (Jake Brake) IF they are so equipped otherwise no engine braking will occur

Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

Posted By: Paul Clancy on 12/04/15 12:24am

Most newer diesel pickups will have a tow haul mode. When engaged it provides a transmission braking program that downshifts the auto agressivly when you lift off fuel pedal. This provides engine braking as good as a gas truck. Many also have grade logic and cruise grade braking as well. Add turbo exhaust brake on many newer trucks and a diesel will hold speed towing down large grades better than gas.

Posted By: tatest on 12/04/15 01:45am

Engine braking for gas engines always comes from intake stroke, working against vacuum of a closed throttle. What you get is proportional to displacement and engine RPM. The 6.8 engine on my motorhome gives me a lot more braking power at 3500-5000 RPM than the 1.5 in my car at any RPM (I can safely run it up to 5000-6000), even though it has a manual transmission. But there is a lot less car to slow down.