RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Can I double up on wire?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I double up on wire?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 10:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Doing this on the megawatt made me wonder: I have a bunch of 8/4 wire, nice and flexible, in heavy housing. Could I run 2 pos and 2 neg, and use it for my battery connections? 2x 8ga = what gauge?


3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.


Artum Snowbird

Campbell River, B.C., Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 05/28/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sure you can. Can you get all the wires under the lug at both ends though?


Mike and Carole
2009 Triple E F254SSXL Fifth Wheel
2005 16.6 Double Eagle
2000 F350 7.3 SC 4X4
previously Snowbird Campers

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you, Artum [emoticon].

Sure, if I have a long bolt [emoticon]. Can I make good connections, though, is another question...

* This post was edited 07/01/17 11:43pm by Naio *

Hiking Hunter

Warrior, Alabama, usually

Senior Member

Joined: 08/27/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Use this chart.

Two #8s in parallel are roughly equivalent to a #5 in resistance.


Amateur Radio WA4GIY
2015 Montana High Country 305RL
2013 RAM 3500 4x4, crew cab, long bed, 6.7 CTD, Aisin trans.
CGVW 20460 Lbs.

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh, thank you, Hiking Hunter!

That is not as good as I thought.

Hiking Hunter

Warrior, Alabama, usually

Senior Member

Joined: 08/27/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, since you have a lot of it, run two 8/4 cables and parallel all the conductors? Each cable would be roughly equivalent to a #2!! (If you have the space) Not the best design...

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Lol, I don't think I will do that [emoticon].

I might use it for the outlets, instead -- two for the shore power, and two for the inverter outlet next to it. Most places, I want one of each.

8ga is overkill, but it is more flexible than romex, and has that nice fat housing.

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 01:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Howzure weak-sister battery doing resting voltage-wise?

folivier

Southeast Louisiana

Full Member

Joined: 04/15/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 06:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

And if the extra wires won't fit on the battery lug then something like this works well:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HZU42Z2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 07:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Artum Snowbird wrote:

Sure you can. Can you get all the wires under the lug at both ends though?


Another thing is if one wire is even a little bit longer the current won't be balanced,,, BUT if you have enough wire.. no problem.

IE if you are likely to pull a max of 200 amps, and your wires are rated at 100 amps each, and you ran 3 or 4 of 'em.. NO PROBLEM.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I double up on wire?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS