RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Can I double up on wire?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I double up on wire?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 10:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Doing this on the megawatt made me wonder: I have a bunch of 8/4 wire, nice and flexible, in heavy housing. Could I run 2 pos and 2 neg, and use it for my battery connections? 2x 8ga = what gauge?


3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.


Artum Snowbird

Campbell River, B.C., Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 05/28/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Sure you can. Can you get all the wires under the lug at both ends though?


Mike and Carole
2012 Winnebago Impulse Silver 26QP
2005 16.6 Double Eagle
2018 Jeep Wrangler JK
previously Snowbird Campers

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thank you, Artum [emoticon].

Sure, if I have a long bolt [emoticon]. Can I make good connections, though, is another question...

* This post was edited 07/01/17 11:43pm by Naio *

Hiking Hunter

Warrior, Alabama, usually

Senior Member

Joined: 08/27/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Use this chart.

Two #8s in parallel are roughly equivalent to a #5 in resistance.


Amateur Radio WA4GIY
2015 Montana High Country 305RL
2013 RAM 3500 4x4, crew cab, long bed, 6.7 CTD, Aisin trans.
CGVW 20460 Lbs.

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:42pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Oh, thank you, Hiking Hunter!

That is not as good as I thought.

Hiking Hunter

Warrior, Alabama, usually

Senior Member

Joined: 08/27/2008

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:47pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Well, since you have a lot of it, run two 8/4 cables and parallel all the conductors? Each cable would be roughly equivalent to a #2!! (If you have the space) Not the best design...

Naio

Snug as a bug in a rug

Senior Member

Joined: 03/04/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/01/17 11:53pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Lol, I don't think I will do that [emoticon].

I might use it for the outlets, instead -- two for the shore power, and two for the inverter outlet next to it. Most places, I want one of each.

8ga is overkill, but it is more flexible than romex, and has that nice fat housing.

MEXICOWANDERER

las peƱas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 01:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Howzure weak-sister battery doing resting voltage-wise?

folivier

Southeast Louisiana

Full Member

Joined: 04/15/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 06:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

And if the extra wires won't fit on the battery lug then something like this works well:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HZU42Z2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/02/17 07:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Artum Snowbird wrote:

Sure you can. Can you get all the wires under the lug at both ends though?


Another thing is if one wire is even a little bit longer the current won't be balanced,,, BUT if you have enough wire.. no problem.

IE if you are likely to pull a max of 200 amps, and your wires are rated at 100 amps each, and you ran 3 or 4 of 'em.. NO PROBLEM.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Can I double up on wire?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS