RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Meanwell PS creates a load?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Meanwell PS creates a load?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/16/17 11:59am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MEXICOWANDERER wrote:

[image]

">2LsZQ25r5ZvdtZBdvngYbg

Mount it up high in a bay. The base the cathode is energized. The anodes have 1/4" bolts which allows size perspective.

  • The 10 amp diodes will fail. Please don't ask why
  • You need absolute minimum voltage drop across the diode and this baby does it at .17 volt at 40 amps
  • Mounted with 1/4" couplers. Standoffs on an non-conductive cargo bay surface
  • The base of this is COPPER and serves as the cathode junction - meaning it has electricity.


The "base" ALSO needs mounted to a heat sink (IE chunk of copper, aluminum or even steel)!!!

Operating high current diodes without providing a way to dissipate heat from the diode junction will soon let the smoke packets out of them (and when that happens you can't put the smoke back in) [emoticon]

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/16/17 01:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hmmm, lessee, I ran my (2) 500 amp units for an hour at 32 amperes and the cathode rose to 142F. Free standing copper has a surprising amount of thermal radiation. But yes, a heatsink would be nice. I found a junk finned isolator to be perfect for the job. I pass 100 amperes for hours with such a setup and at the end, the isolator, and the cathode are barely warm. These Schottky units are quite the item.

Brulaz, sir. Make up a bridge bypass AROUND the Schottky unit, with a fifty amp toggle switch.

REMEMBER the rule with rectifier ratings - the ratings are for full amperage conditions at an elevated temperature. A 30-volt rating will survive 30 volts continuously for years if the rectifier P/N junction temperatures are kept mild.

I tested quiescent leakage of my units at forty point zero volts. Nine milliamps at around 26c. This test does not utilize any load. Does not imply the rectifiers will survive at load with 40 volts.

There are 50 volt Schottky plates but forward voltage drop is increased and cost is higher.

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/16/17 01:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

[image]

">AgAAOSw14xWMZIA&vxp=mtr]http://www.eba........alt="[emoticon]">AgAAOSw14xWMZIA&vxp=mtr

One to Eat Now, the other one saved for later. Good switches.

AND..........................................................

">AgAAOSw14xWMZIA&vxp=mtr]http://www.eba........alt="[emoticon]">AgAAOSw14xWMZIA&vxp=mtr

I like the Sure Power separator best. No voltage drop and TOTAL disconnect is, well, it's it's ------ SMART

* This post was edited 07/16/17 02:16pm by MEXICOWANDERER *

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/16/17 02:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would like to think the output is diode protected and thus the device wont resent any load when not powered.. But alas that is how **I** would build them (in fact I do build power supplies)

I know Progressive Dynamics the wizard is still on line and the fan, far as I know those are the only loads (The Wiz is basically a voltmeter load, not much).

Can't talk about others

IF you can adjust the output voltage of that Meanwell... I'd put a heavy duty diode in the line (Say a set or half set of alternator diodes with heat sinc and fan, hook the fan to the Meanwell side) And increase the voltage by the amount indicated.. or a diode isolator and again increase the outut by the diode drop.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Gdetrailer

PA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2007

View Profile



Posted: 07/16/17 03:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wa8yxm wrote:

I would like to think the output is diode protected and thus the device wont resent any load when not powered.. But alas that is how **I** would build them (in fact I do build power supplies)

I know Progressive Dynamics the wizard is still on line and the fan, far as I know those are the only loads (The Wiz is basically a voltmeter load, not much).

Can't talk about others

IF you can adjust the output voltage of that Meanwell... I'd put a heavy duty diode in the line (Say a set or half set of alternator diodes with heat sinc and fan, hook the fan to the Meanwell side) And increase the voltage by the amount indicated.. or a diode isolator and again increase the outut by the diode drop.


PD converters ARE "designed" to be able to accept and live with "12V" connected to the output of said supply..

Meanwells and pretty much any other power supply which has not be specifically designed to charge a battery (or have 12V at the output terms at all times, not so much.

Many switching power supplies will have some sort of feedback network for the regulator to "sample" the output voltage.. Some may also have current limiting circuits present on the output section or some may even have a drain resistor to drain off the residual voltage when the power supply has been powered down. All of those scenarios can "sneak" current when the power supply is turned off.

When using ANY power supply not specifically designed to charge a battery or not designed to be paralleled it IS very wise to include your own diode in the output of each supply.. It will save you hassle and possible smoke packets from being accidentally released..

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/16/17 06:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The secret is to find an isolation device that does not act like your banker: Charge you a fee to count and use your money.

Except for inevitable questions about lifespan, it is tough to argue against a top quality totally-automatic battery solenoid-separator. It has negligible voltage drop no issues when equalizing a battery. When the power supply circuit voltage drops below a certain value (cessation of charge) there is total and absolute isolation of the power supply. Again no thinking no sweat, automatic.

I was "encouraged" to use a Schottky based dual rectifier because of the twin power supplies of the Borg. No way was a pair of battery separators going to fit in the Borg's case. Why Schottky? Why 500 amperes rating? A typical automobile full wave bridge rectifier is going to see .8 - .9 volts drop at 40 amperes output. Paralleling all three phase rectifiers The Schottky has .22vf. Each Megawatt is connected to a separate anode. 40 amperes versus 250 amperes capacity.

The online full wave bridge rectifiers a person sees on eBay have superb components, commonly rated 1Kv PIV. But with those high PIV values come higher forward voltage drop. An eBay rectifier commonly develops 1.1 - 1.2 volts drop at or near full ampacity. Compare that to the 500 amp Schottky.

When building alternators I trusted nothing. Even new rectifiers got tested, graded and sometimes rejected. Selectable 25, 40, or 50 amperes and always 1Kv reverse leakage. Renard and Traanspo bragged they sold 200 PIV stuff. In reality about 98% of what I purchased passed 1Kv and 1ma PIV.

The 1200 ampere rectifiers I use in Quicksilver and the Delco 50DN are rated 1,675 PIV. These monsters have 2/0 braid leads with 1/2" terminal holes and 1-1/8" studs with extremely fine threads. Made in Vermont and used in the metal plating industry. Purchased through Barney Kaplan Supply, Detroit.

Isolating a power supply via rectifiers is more involving then doing it with a simple and relatively inexpensive battery separator.

Because of the 28 volt question I would tend to gently urge Mr. Brulaz, to consider the battery separator. Dinner for 3 at a nice restaurant would cost about the same.

brulaz

Ontario Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 02/27/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/17/17 05:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've learned a lot, as usual on this forum.

For now anyway, I'll just leave the DC fuses out until the Meanwell is needed, which is pretty rare actually. And even if I left them in, it's not that big a deal.

But someday I'll prolly try one or more of these suggestions, more out of curiosity than necessity.

Thanks all for the info.


2014 ORV Timber Ridge 240RKS,8500#,1250# tongue,39K miles
690W Rooftop + 340W Portable Solar,4 GC2s,[email protected]
2016 Ram 2500 4x4 RgCab CTD,2507# payload,10.8 mpgUS tow

landyacht318

Near a large body of salty water

Senior Member

Joined: 07/11/2007

View Profile



Posted: 08/05/17 02:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I just got around to clampmetering my Meanwell rsp-500-15 with it plugged into DC, No AC.

I have two Noctua fans attached to DC outputs, so IF I have it hooked to DC, the fans spin. I use 45 amp anderson powerpoles toconnect/ disconnect. I also have a GTpower wattmeter inline, and another brighter easier to read voltmeter which also illuminate when hooked to DC.

As far as I can tell, these are the only loads when I am plugged into DC with no AC.

The 60mm Noctua nf-a6x25-flx is listed at 0.12 amp draw
The 80mm NOctua Noctua NF-R8 is listed at 0.12 amp draw

My clampmeter over the wires to these two fans is reading 0.24 amps

The wattmeter draws 0.05 amps, not sure of the green voltmeter as its wire cannot be easily clamped, but I will assume it is somewhere between 0.04 and 0.001 amps

Total draw according my my clampmeter is 0.33 amps. I know these clampmeters are generally not really accurate down this low, but I have done side by side testing before with other ammeters hooked inline on the circuit and found it fairly close at a single t10 LED at 0.08 amps draw.

So as far as I can tell, the only loads when I plug in my meanwell rsp-500-15 to ~12vdcDC are my additional fans, wattmeter and voltmeter.

brulaz

Ontario Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 02/27/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 08/06/17 01:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Landyacht's post persuaded to get out there and try to measure the actual current.

My system has two built in ammeters but they're low resolution. The Rogue charger has a 0.1A display, and the 100A ammeter with a shunt off the neg battery post has 0.01 display at low currents, but I don't think it can resolve better than 50-100 mA. My clampon is bit better than those, with a 1 mA display at low currents, but tends to wander a lot in that range. Prolly 50ma is its max resolution.

Anyway, my two built in meters were reading stable currents before I plugged in the fuse for the Meanwell RSP-500-27. I plugged it in and removed it several times. It sparked each time I plugged it in. The built in ammeters showed no consistent change, but the clampon showed roughly 100mA change plus/minus 50mA each time. At 26.66V that works out to ~64Wh per day. Reasonably close to what the Rogue daily log was telling me when I had the Meanwell fuses in.

FWIW

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 08/06/17 09:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

capacitors resist changes in voltage. So they are going to spark even when disconnected for a few seconds. The BORG has 00.000 amperes draw and .24 across the schottky at full song - both power supplies yelling at each other.

There are SO MANY WAYS to isolate a power supply it isn't funny...

Use a 120va tiny relay on the AC input to switch DC to a White Rogers, relay on the output.

Use a schottky rectifier and heat sink

Use a HD switch.

Well, time for bed. Early rise and shine. Tomorrow cross that line and face thousands of newly stoned California drivers...

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Meanwell PS creates a load?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS