RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Wfco amp test.. What are you pendant guys getting?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Wfco amp test.. What are you pendant guys getting?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 11  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
lawrosa

Howell NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 10/06/2013

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 12:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Id rather retain the current converter. Its easy for me to run another wire or replace the existing.

I mean I was getting 60 amps with both wires.. measuring seperatly the wire I added had more amps running through it..like 38 amps on added wire vs 24 amps on the existing..

But I am not sure if this is a good formula but they do use this technique in the electrical world...

As I said the existing wire has a breaker and the wire I added had no breaker during my test..

As far finding a large breaker a 50 amps is the only one thats available off the shelf... ( walmart).. I think thats sufficient as they dont trip until a certain percentage..


Mike L ... N.J.

2006 Silverado ext cab long bed. 3:42 rear. LM7 5.3 motor. 300 hp 350 ft lbs torgue @ 4000 rpms
2018 coachmen Catalina sbx 261bh


time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/12/17 12:46pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

https://www.amazon.com/Cooper-Bussmann-CB185-80-High-Amp-Breaker

If you are getting one of those self resetting automotive breakers... just stop. They are absolute junk at best and fire hazard often enough. Especially putting 60 amps through it.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

lawrosa

Howell NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 10/06/2013

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 03:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

https://www.amazon.com/Cooper-Bussmann-CB185-80-High-Amp-Breaker

If you are getting one of those self resetting automotive breakers... just stop. They are absolute junk at best and fire hazard often enough. Especially putting 60 amps through it.


I have this that I bought for a solar project but I thought it was too many amps..

Its a 100 amp model like you show..although yours is 80 amps

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Bussmann-CB18........wl11=online&wl12=128038267&wl13=&veh=sem

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/12/17 03:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ampacity is about 135 so no trouble with 100 amp breaker on #4 wire.
Even #6 is good for 100 amps as primary wire, not bundled, 105C insulation.

http://www.genuinedealz.com/voltage-drop-calculator

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 10/12/17 03:39pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

https://www.amazon.com/Cooper-Bussmann-CB185-80-High-Amp-Breaker

If you are getting one of those self resetting automotive breakers... just stop. They are absolute junk at best and fire hazard often enough. Especially putting 60 amps through it.


agreed, at the very very least get one that does NOT automatically reset. why would you want a breaker that trips, resets, trips, resets and lets an overload go on.....

even better get a real breaker or a maxifuse.

best, get a breaker like in the above link.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


lawrosa

Howell NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 10/06/2013

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 05:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I think I will do the parallel. I found this that states two #6 = 1- #3..

Its crazy your calculator shows at 15 ft #6 has a 6% voltage drop @ 60 amps.

So I will do better then putting a # 4 to replace..


https://www.wirebarn.com/combined-wire-gauge-calculator_ep_42.html

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 06:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't know, so am just asking---can those clamp meters measure the total amps with two wires at a time like that?

Perhaps related, is I am amazed at the 60 amps on that long a run of fairly thin wires. I couldn't get that.

But I use my Trimetric as the ammeter for what is going into the battery bank. I had a 55 amper on about 3 ft of #8 and it did about 55 amps, but was able to get 60 amps by changing to #4. 15 ft seems like it should be too far, but I am not there with my meter.


2003 Chev 2500HD Gas, 2003 Komfort 26FS 5er,
1981 Frontier 11ft Truck Camper
See Profile for Equipment Lists

lawrosa

Howell NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 10/06/2013

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 07:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BFL13 wrote:

I don't know, so am just asking---can those clamp meters measure the total amps with two wires at a time like that?

Perhaps related, is I am amazed at the 60 amps on that long a run of fairly thin wires. I couldn't get that.

But I use my Trimetric as the ammeter for what is going into the battery bank. I had a 55 amper on about 3 ft of #8 and it did about 55 amps, but was able to get 60 amps by changing to #4. 15 ft seems like it should be too far, but I am not there with my meter.


It was additive of amps.. If I put the amp meter on the existing wire it was like 26 amps. The wire I added was like 36 amps..

The existing wire has that re-settable breaker. Maybe why more resistance.. Another issue with the factory wire is there is a soldered butt splice in it.. Story is factory wire was pinched in frame. Dealer cut it and did a shoddy repair. so I butt sliced and soldered.

This guy shows 200 amps through 4 wires...


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYEiXy_ToT0&t=304s

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 10/12/17 07:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I recommend a single wire.

lawrosa

Howell NJ

Senior Member

Joined: 10/06/2013

View Profile



Posted: 10/12/17 07:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

I recommend a single wire.


reason?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 11  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Wfco amp test.. What are you pendant guys getting?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2017 CWI, Inc. © 2017 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS