RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Newbie travel trailer buyer question - to slide out or not

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Travel Trailers

Open Roads Forum  >  Travel Trailers  >  General Q&A

> Newbie travel trailer buyer question - to slide out or not

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Page  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 13  
Next
Sponsored By:
Sanjeev

View Profile

Posted: 12/31/17 04:05pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi all:

I am a newbie in the world of camper trailers, trying to buy my first camper trailer to get started. I am in my late 40s, married with wife and two kids - a 20 year old college going daughter (home only occasionally) and a 10 year old son. Mentioned this to give some idea on what we would need in a camper.

For towing the trailer, I bought a 2017 Ram 1500 ecodiesel with a 3.92 Rear Axle Ratio. Specs show a "Max Trailer Weight Rating" of 7540 lbs. for this truck.

In our local market, I spotted two trailers (on craigslist) that I want to investigate further:

1. A 2016 Forest River Shasta Oasis 25RS. The owner mentions "excellent condition" at a listed price that sounds reasonable. I have googled the model and watched some youtube videos and so far, wife and myself like the floor plan. We have not gone to physically take a look yet, will probably do that in the coming week.
2. A 2016 Coachmen Catalina 261 BH SBX. This one we went to take a look yesterday, and through our newbie eyes, it did look like in excellent condition. We liked the floor plan on this one also.