RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Batwing antenna and SensarPro

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Batwing antenna and SensarPro

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Belgique

Hickory, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/13/18 02:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I've never really tried OTA since we use the TravLer in this new to us rig. I bought a SensarPro to have OTA as a back up. I can confirm that I am using the coax from the batwing to the sensar. I have direct hooked up the TV(s) from the Sensar. No splitters etc.

The Sensar finds 5 or 6 stations with a signal strength in the 60s. That tells me that the batwing and Sensar are functioning. BUT, neither TV finds any stations on a scan for ether TV or DTV. I know how to do it. It scans and says it couldn't find anything. I tried it on the main TV with a short coax. I tried it on the bedroom TV with a longer piece of coax direct from the Sensar to the TV.

What am I missing? Thanks in advance.


Hickory, NC
2007 Fleetwood Discovery 40X


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/13/18 03:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First check for a small button on a wall plate for powering the amplifier in the antenna head. Power it on.
Next go to your TV menu. Look for input and set to antenna, not cable. Rerun station scan.
This should work, but check your TV owner's manual


Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker


Belgique

Hickory, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/13/18 03:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks Bud but I had done these

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/13/18 03:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have you tried rotating the antenna? Guess which way OTA transmitter is.

rrupert

NW PA

Senior Member

Joined: 02/26/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/13/18 03:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You may be getting a signal but it may not be strong enough to provide a functional picture. One of the drawbacks of DTV, unlike analog TV.


Rich and Joyce
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
2012 Ford F150 4X4 Supercrew EcoBoost
Reese Strait-Line Dual Cam Hitch
Amateur Radio K3EXU


enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/13/18 03:56pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No offense, but have followed the instructions?
Manual
Does your antenna head have an amplifier?

Belgique

Hickory, NC

Senior Member

Joined: 09/17/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 01/13/18 04:11pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No offense taken. Sometimes the simplest thing is the culprit. Read the manuals for Cesar and tv. Mystery to me is that the sesar is finding signals in the 60s but not the tv.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/13/18 04:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Double check your cable connections.
Make sure the LED for antenna is lit.

enblethen

Moses Lake, WA

Senior Member

Joined: 01/05/2005

View Profile






Posted: 01/13/18 04:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Test the "antenna in" port for 12 volts DC to antenna head.
Then go to roof and verify it is getting to the head.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 01/13/18 04:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

60 is about the minimum usable signal
using the Sensar Pro turn to PEAK one of the signals. Then go down to the "Gain" setting (i think that is the next to the bottom LED) and up it to 20

10 is about the same as not using the Sensar Pro

See if that helps. I've been using a Sensar pro for a few years Very happy with it.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Batwing antenna and SensarPro
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS