RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Fifth-Wheels: Titan disc brakes / 2017 GM duramax

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Titan disc brakes / 2017 GM duramax

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Wood chip

Nor Cal

Full Member

Joined: 08/21/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/28/18 07:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does anybody have real life knowledge if the integrated brake controller in a 2017 GM is compatible with Titan brakes electric over hydraulic setup? I have read that im good to go but did see a youtube video of 2016 needing the added module to communicate with the OEM integrated brake controller. Hopefully somebody here has a 2017 GM and has electric over hydraulic disc brakes on their rv.


2017 Chevy HD 3500 Dually LTZ D/A combo crew cab / Bilstein 4600's / Ride Rite air bags w remote / 50 gal transfer flow Aux tank / Trailersaver BD5
2015 ORV Glacier Peak 28rks / Titan Disc brakes / MorRide 4000 / Steadyfast stabilizer / Michelin XP Ribs

Lwiddis

Los Angeles :(

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 02/28/18 07:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you replace any factory braking equipment with aftermarket won’t that void any...any GM warranty? What is deficient about GM’s braking?


2015 Winnebago 2101DS TT & Tahoe LTZ, 300 watts WindyNation solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL flagpole for US flag. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - old MOS 1542 & 1560.


time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/28/18 08:23pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Module is just to simulate some actual current draw to prevent an error message. Worst case you add the 2 wire module. Good to go.

https://www.hydrastarusa.com/products/accessories/controller-adapter-module/

2017 model is probably fine.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Dayle1

Spicewood, Tx

Senior Member

Joined: 04/12/2001

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 06:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Module is just to simulate some actual current draw to prevent an error message. Worst case you add the 2 wire module. Good to go.

https://www.hydrastarusa.com/products/accessories/controller-adapter-module/

2017 model is probably fine.


X2


Larry Day
Texas Baptist Men-Retiree Builders since '01
'13 Silverado 3500HD LT 2wd CCSB SRW, custom RKI bed
'19 Starcraft Telluride 292RLS
Rig Photos


djousma

SW Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/01/18 07:37am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had to add the module to my 2016. Without it, it didn't set a light or fault, but the truck would pulse the hydraulic pump every 5 seconds. As mentioned, adding the module does nothing except add a resistance load to the circuit to "fool" the controller. My brake installer told me that you can even reuse one of the old brake magnets wired inline, and that would also resolve the problem. For Fords, it sounds like the 2017's and up are good.


Dave
2016 F350 Lariat 4x4 FX4 SRW CC SB 6.7 Magnetic Metallic
2017 Forest River Cardinal 3850RL


racer4

Upstate New York

Senior Member

Joined: 02/02/2009

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 12:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

djousma wrote:

snip ... My brake installer told me that you can even reuse one of the old brake magnets wired inline, and that would also resolve the problem. For Fords, it sounds like the 2017's and up are good.


X2
That is what performancetrailerbraking.com did when he installed mine. The magnet is strapped to the top front of the front storage compartment, near the pin box and hydraulic actuator.


Chris and Pat
2016 Ram 3500 Limited, Cummins, Aisin, Dually, 4.10 axles, Auto Flex Air Ride Suspension, Pace Edwards JackRabbit, Transfer Flow aux fuel tank
2017 Cedar Creek 36CKTS, Disk Brake Upgrade


padredw

East Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 08/11/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 02:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Quote:

My brake installer told me that you can even reuse one of the old brake magnets wired inline, and that would also resolve the problem.


I had to do this on my 2002 Duramax. Since I had the magnets already installed (DIY cost me $5) I just left them in place with my 2017 Duramax. I don't think they would be needed, but I can say that everything is working.

Without the magnets the integrated controller on my 2002 would not work at all. The magnets "fool" the controller into thinking that the electrical signal is going to the brakes. To test you have to have a tester based on a automobile headlamp. Without it a multimeter will no more receive a signal from the integrated controller than the hydraulic actuator will. I spent hours with a professional disc brake installer who did not know this--and in fact would not believe it.

This relates to the older Duramax not the 2017. I built a tester with a headlamp from a junkyard. When I went to a Chevrolet dealer, he had a very similar tester.





Michelle.S

Western NY till fall, then Sebring, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2011

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 06:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Nothing required on a 2017/18 GM. I just removed my CAM Module (interface module) on my '18.


2018 Chevy 3500HD High Country Crew Cab DRW, D/A, 2016 Redwood 39MB, Dual AC, Fireplace, Sleep #Bed, Auto Sat Dish, Stack Washer/Dryer, Auto Level Sys, Disk Brakes, Onan Gen, 17.5" "H" tires, MORryde Pin & IS, Comfort Ride, Dual Awnings, Full Body Paint

Wood chip

Nor Cal

Full Member

Joined: 08/21/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 07:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Michelle.S wrote:

Nothing required on a 2017/18 GM. I just removed my CAM Module (interface module) on my '18.


Thank you

pcm1959

home

Senior Member

Joined: 01/23/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/01/18 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Michelle.S wrote:

Nothing required on a 2017/18 GM. I just removed my CAM Module (interface module) on my '18.


Thanks for the definitive answer. I just took delivery of a 2018 GMC Duramax last week so I was wondering the same thing.
Funny thing is, I just had that " 2 wire fooler module" go bad a few months ago and had to replace it. I had to have it on my 2013 Duramax with factory ITBC.
So now I guess I can remove it from the RV before connecting the new truck.
Thanks.


2018 GMC Sierra 3500 DRW 4x4 Duramax/Allison
2014 Lifestyle LS36FW
St Augustine, FL

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Fifth-Wheels

 > Titan disc brakes / 2017 GM duramax
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Fifth-Wheels


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS