RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Coleman or Supco hard start kit?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman or Supco hard start kit?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
Sponsored By:
joshuajim

Mojave Desert

Senior Member

Joined: 04/29/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/08/18 12:10pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

SoundGuy wrote:

joshuajim wrote:

So you want me to do your homework. Hmm,,,


Seems you want myself and all the rest of us to do yours ... hmm. [emoticon]


I didn't need to research it because I know exactly what it does. It seems that YOU are the one that was not knowledgeable of its's properties, so if you were inquisitive, then it's your responsibility to DO THE HOMEWORK!

bshgto1

HAGERSTOWN

New Member

Joined: 05/04/2014

View Profile



Posted: 03/09/18 08:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

SoundGuy wrote:

IMO you're worrying about nothing. I've used the SPP6 on every A/C I've owned including my current Dometic Brisk II but I would now not bother and instead ante up for a Micro-Air Easy Start Soft Starter Kit which will significantly ease A/C compressor start up, regardless of whether the power source is line or genset. I only haven't bothered to date because we use our A/C so infrequently, otherwise the Easy Start would unquestionably be the better solution.


AS this person I installed one of these on each 15,000 btu a/c. They came off my last unit. They do work and yes they are expensive. But the generators love them and you can move them to your new unit when you trade to another or trade up as I recently did.


2018.5 Montana 3791 Rear Den
Electric brakes suck Disk brakes it`s the only way
Andersen Ultimate on the rails, 5th AirBorne....real smooth ride
2006 Ford 350 King Ranch 6.0 time bomb


Electrojake

Not so new Jersey

New Member

Joined: 09/27/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/25/18 01:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Simple RV-A/C question. . .

Where do I wire-in a Supco Hard Start capacitor?

The unit in question is a 9000 BTU Coleman Mach RV A/C.

The diagram below shows my stock air conditioner wiring. All I need to do is connect the new hard start capacitor, but where?
The options based on the diagram below would be to connect the Supco cap across terminals 1 & 2 or across 3 & 4.
Which is it???

The reason I'm asking is because after watching several videos and reading lots of posts and articles on this issue I still have not found a clear and concise answer.

What I 'did' learn so far...
It's fascinating how much people can talk & explain and yet not give an answer.
Thanks,
-Ej-

[image]

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/25/18 03:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Electrojake wrote:

Simple RV-A/C question. . .

Where do I wire-in a Supco Hard Start capacitor?

The unit in question is a 9000 BTU Coleman Mach RV A/C.

The diagram below shows my stock air conditioner wiring. All I need to do is connect the new hard start capacitor, but where?
The options based on the diagram below would be to connect the Supco cap across terminals 1 & 2 or across 3 & 4.
Which is it???

The reason I'm asking is because after watching several videos and reading lots of posts and articles on this issue I still have not found a clear and concise answer.

What I 'did' learn so far...
It's fascinating how much people can talk & explain and yet not give an answer.
Thanks,
-Ej-

[image]


If your coleman 9,000 BTU is like mine,

1) Coleman reduced the LRA noticeably from the 13.5K units
2) they installed a much better matched starting cap

w/o doing anything, I can easily start and run my coleman 9,000BTU unit in my small trailer with my honda 2000 in eco mode at altituded at least to 6,000Ft on very hot days with no problem.

honda doesn't need to grunt much at all to start it.

Now the 13.5K BTU units, completely the opposite experience.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


Electrojake

Not so new Jersey

New Member

Joined: 09/27/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/25/18 05:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ktmrfs wrote:

If your coleman 9,000 BTU is like mine,

1) Coleman reduced the LRA noticeably from the 13.5K units
2) they installed a much better matched starting cap

w/o doing anything, I can easily start and run my coleman 9,000BTU unit in my small trailer with my honda 2000 in eco mode at altituded at least to 6,000Ft on very hot days with no problem.

honda doesn't need to grunt much at all to start it.

Now the 13.5K BTU units, completely the opposite experience.

Thank you for the fast response, ktmrfs.
Yes, I am running a rather new 9000 BTU Mach (although I'm told the latest units have been upped to 9200 BTU).
The LRA current is 58.4 amps. Running current is 9.0

The exact problem is that the first start of the morning will throw my Honda EU2000i into overload... Even when its not in ECO mode!
Note that every start after that is perfectly fine all day long.


I just ordered a 5-2-1 CSR-U1 compressor saver. It is a three wire device that actually comes with a straight forward wiring diagram. Hopefully it will cut the starting load just enough to keep the EU2000i from going into overload before the A/C compressor gets up to speed on that first start of the day.

[image]

Please also note that my Honda EU2000i runs on propane which reduces it's output capacity by about 10%.
Propane is clean and convenient but has less energy than gasoline.

Thanks again for the reply! [emoticon]
Regards,
-Ej-

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman or Supco hard start kit?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS