RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Microwave Overloading my 3000W inverter

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Microwave Overloading my 3000W inverter

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/08/18 06:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes very odd. You are certain there are no other loads on before you hit go on the MW?

My GP 2000 SW runs my Dometic MW just fine at about 1700 watts. 4x GC2 no assist unless the sun is shining.

I would be checking actual power draw with a clap-on ammeter. Check both the AC out and the DC in. Also verify DC voltage on the actual inverter terminals.

Has it run the MW previously?


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

WTrippe

Tampa

New Member

Joined: 09/21/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 06:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

X2 on 2oldman's suggestions.

My humble opinion, 2-0 isn't enough for that size inverter, but I'm a pessimist and wire for worst case and then some.


Manual suggested 4/0 so I stepped it up to 2/0.

WTrippe

Tampa

New Member

Joined: 09/21/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 06:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

time2roll wrote:

Yes very odd. You are certain there are no other loads on before you hit go on the MW?

My GP 2000 SW runs my Dometic MW just fine at about 1700 watts. 4x GC2 no assist unless the sun is shining.

I would be checking actual power draw with a clap-on ammeter. Check both the AC out and the DC in. Also verify DC voltage on the actual inverter terminals.

Has it run the MW previously?


Yes it has run the MW before. I remember making popcorn with it when I only had 4 batteries and it would drop the voltage down to below 12V but the output would be around 50% at most. After I got 8 batteries I tried it again and the voltage stayed above 12V with a 50% draw. I didn't use it for a long time I've been using the generator to make coffee and cook with until now.

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 06:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

4/0 is a lot heavier than 2/0


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2017 Ram 2500 4x4, 6.4 HEMI, 4.10 / Auto

WTrippe

Tampa

New Member

Joined: 09/21/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 06:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

4/0 is a lot heavier than 2/0


my mistake, I checked my amazon orders.

This is the wire I used.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LIB60WW/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

TEMCo WC0342 - 50' (25' Blk, 25' Red) 4/0 Gauge AWG Welding Lead & Car Battery Cable Copper Wire BLACK + RED | MADE IN USA

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/18 06:29pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

How is the inverter 120v side wired up for what appliances are on what? IE is the MW on a different sub-panel from the other things that work ok? Try plugging in the MW to a receptacle that runs the kettle ok and see if the MW runs ok there.(will need an extension cord )

What is the 3a on standby compared with the 6a water heater? 3a 120v??? Makes no sense. Inverter on standby, no load, would have maybe 1/2 an amp DC although inverter/chargers seem to have more what with their extra "features".

What is the "output" all about? Not following. [emoticon]

Like the others, I have no problem running the MW with a 2000w inverter. But I don't have a remote display and transfer switch and relay etc. I plug the shore power cable into the Inverter and shut off the converter etc manually.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI

SidecarFlip

SE Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 10/09/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 06:33pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't believe your wiring is heavy enough. I use welding cable myself.


2015 Backpack SS1500
1997 Ford 7.3 OBS 4x4 CC LB

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 03/08/18 07:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

SidecarFlip wrote:

I don't believe your wiring is heavy enough. I use welding cable myself.


I have no problem with my MW pulling 120 amps with four feet of #1 AWG (8 ft round trip) staying above the 11 volt alarm with the batts down near 50% SOC. (0.6v drop) He has way fatter wiring than that (don't know how long though).

His readings with the coffee maker are very good, so can't see the inverter-battery wiring as an issue. Something about the complicated installation set -up as to what is wired to what is my guess.

ktmrfs

Portland, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 06/22/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 07:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

WTrippe wrote:

GordonThree wrote:

X2 on 2oldman's suggestions.

My humble opinion, 2-0 isn't enough for that size inverter, but I'm a pessimist and wire for worst case and then some.


Manual suggested 4/0 so I stepped it up to 2/0.


sorry 4/0 is much higher capacity than 2/0. 4/0 wire is larger cross section than 2/0.

BTW I use 4/0 with my 1000W sine wave inverter to run my panasonic true inverter microwave. draws about 800VA at 50% power.

and a 1200W microwave refers to the output power of the magnetron. with a 1200W microwave, actual VA draw is likely close to 1600 or even 1800VA. you have the power supply efficiency and the fact it is not a resistive load but an inductive load.

But, with proper wiring and 4 or more 6V batteries, I would expect you should be able to run the microwave.


2011 Keystone Outback 295RE
2004 14' bikehauler with full living quarters
2015.5 Denali 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison
2004.5 Silverado 4x4 CC/SB Duramax/Allison passed on to our Son!


pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/08/18 07:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

Are the batteries wired in a balanced manner?


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Microwave Overloading my 3000W inverter
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS