RV.Net Open Roads Forum: General RVing Issues: complaints when using a hughes autoformer

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > complaints when using a hughes autoformer

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next
Sponsored By:
dockmasterdave

florida

Senior Member

Joined: 02/19/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:21am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am looking at a used hughes autoformer. I know some parks rules say they are not allowed.
Some parks we have been in, I have seen voltage at @ 102 to 104 with my a/c on.
I would be using a PI 3o amp surge protector in front of a hughes autoformer then the rv cord.
I just wondered if anyone has gotten in trouble for using their autoformer ?


2014 F 150 ecoboost
2010 F 150 4.6L
2007 ranger
09 Amerilite 21 (modified)
2013 Bendron 14' enclosed cargo
2011 4x8 open cargo

samsontdog

Oregon, Wash Coast summer, Yuma Az winter

Senior Member

Joined: 08/06/2002

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have used mine for over 15 yrs all over the USA with no problems. I useualy have it chained to the elect post as it is portably


samsontdog">">

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

AC current is neat, you can trade voltage for current and vice versa, using simple magnetic coils.

Boosting 100 volts to 120 volts, with wattage remaining fixed (same load), means your transformer will drawing more amps over an already overloaded distribution system to make up the volts.

I can see a park with a sub-standard system being upset about blowing a main transformer or damaging lines if everyone were running their own transformer.

It will make the problem worse for others on the system that don't have their own transformer. Your transformer will only cause the voltage to drop even lower for others.

Given today's society, the me-first thinking that's popular, lowering someone else's voltage is not my problem, others can buy a transformer too of course.

Report this park to the County building inspector, and the state building inspector. Low voltage is a safety issue.


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2017 Ram 2500 4x4, 6.4 HEMI, 4.10 / Auto

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 04/15/18 10:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

To do you any good you should have Autoformer BEFORE the Surge protector

IF surge protector is first in line then it will continue to cut power on low voltages before autoformer can boost it

Otherwise WHY have the autoformer?

And YES.......
During our travels have been in some CGs that did not allow the use of an autoformer.
Their place....their rules


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

2oldman

Pahrump

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I thought the autoformers were also surge protection.

Lwiddis

El Pueblo de Nuestra Senora Reina Los Angeles

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:42am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yup. Park might be upset at you using a transformer but never upset over taking your money and providing substandard volts.


2015 Winnebago 2101DS TT & Chevy Tahoe LTZ, 300 watts WindyNation solar - parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL flagpole for USC & historical flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county campgrounds. 14 year Army vet. Bicyclist!

dockmasterdave

florida

Senior Member

Joined: 02/19/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Old Biscuit I only have the PI surge protector, not EMS. Yes, I would like to buy one but can't afford everything at once.
So my surge protector won't be correcting before the hughes, just protecting it.
This deal just showed up for a good condition Hughes 30 amp for $120.
Possibly too good to pass up. I can still buy the good PI ems later and put it inline after the Hughes as you suggest.

dockmasterdave

florida

Senior Member

Joined: 02/19/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 10:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

2oldman From what I read on other posts on this forum, the surge protection in the Hughes is identical to the PI surge protector.
I would just be boosting the voltage at parks with borderline power.
I don't want to have to replace my a/c and electronics. Living in south FL, camping in summer is a must, everything is full up in winter. **** sure, every rig in the park will be running it's a/c at or near it's capacity.

SoundGuy

S Ontario

Senior Member

Joined: 02/11/2015

View Profile



Posted: 04/15/18 11:14am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

dockmasterdave wrote:

I am looking at a used hughes autoformer.


Just make sure that as a used unit it does work properly. I once bought a TRC version online from a private party but as soon as it arrived and I got it on my workbench it was instantly obvious it was blown. The seller claimed to be totally surprised but I got lucky as he rebated my purchase price once he saw pics of the inside of the unit.

bob213

Fresno, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 12/09/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 04/15/18 11:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You can mount your autoformer inline before your converter and no one will ever know you have one. I've used mine for 10 years without ever running into a campground that says I can't use it and it's not hidden. Mine is "post/autoformer/ems/trailer".


You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 9  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

 > complaints when using a hughes autoformer
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2018 CWI, Inc. © 2018 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS