|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

> Trojan T-1275 Trouble

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
MakerMK

IN

View Profile

Posted: 01/09/19 11:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Newbie here.

I have a travel trailer that has a Trojan T-1275 battery that is around three years old. The camper spends most of it's time in a pole barn hooked up to a couple of 100 watt solar panels and a Schneider charge/load controller. I check the water level when I think about it (I know, it should be on a schedule) and the last time I checked it was about 1/8" below the top of the plates and the charge level was low. I topped the cells off with distilled water and gave it a couple of days to recharge.

Well, it didn't recharge. I initially thought I must have ruined the battery by letting it get low, but after checking the wiring of my solar system I discovered a bad connection. A much better problem to have than a dead battery! I moved the camper to a source of AC power and let the camper's system (not the Schneider) charge the battery. The next day I took hydrometer readings and they were still deep in the red/recharge zone. I let it charge for another day and there was no change.

I decided to take a voltage reading, so I disconnected the battery and let it sit overnight. When I checked it, it read 13.1 volts! I grabbed the hydrometer again and the readings were all still in the red/recharge zone. I suspected the hydrometer so I checked it with plain water and it read 1.0, or more precisely the water level was at the point where 1.0 would be if the scale went that far.