RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: Just venting....

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Just venting....

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
Sponsored By:
oldave

Tx

Full Member

Joined: 06/19/2018

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/10/19 08:28pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Come on guys use your brain .

If you use a 30 amp adapter it will only plug into a 30 amp receptacle .

A 30 amp receptacle will only let you have 30 amps of elect .

You will not be able to run all your stuff at one time , it'll be like
the old days .
Should we run the front air or the rear air.

The OP knows all this that's why he titled this thread " Just Venting "

Ray

rk911

Wheaton IL

Senior Member

Joined: 05/30/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/10/19 09:06pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

well, then consider everything after the OP to be an academic discussion.


'73,
rich, n9dko
Remember...if you don’t know where you’re going you're bound to end up somewhere else.
_________________________________
_________________________________
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
'46 Willys CJ2A
'03 Jeep Wrangler TJ
'10 Jeep Liberty KK



rhagfo

Portland, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 01/10/19 10:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

oldave wrote:

Come on guys use your brain .

If you use a 30 amp adapter it will only plug into a 30 amp receptacle .

A 30 amp receptacle will only let you have 30 amps of elect .

You will not be able to run all your stuff at one time , it'll be like
the old days .
Should we run the front air or the rear air.

The OP knows all this that's why he titled this thread " Just Venting "

Ray


Ivylog wrote:

Buy a 50 to 30 adapter and a 30amp cord...back to the good old days and problem solved.


The suggestion was to use a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter. This works fine in a 30 amp rig as the feed to the RV is 50 amps at 120 volts, the cable is protected by the 30 amp min breaker in the RV.

Now if you have a 50 amp to 30 amp at the box, and change the end to plug into a 50 amp connector at the RV, the RV will have a double 50 amp breaker allowing the RV to draw 50 amps over the 10 gauge wire, effectively turning it into a melted mess. either the 30 amp cable needs to be plugged into a 30 amp receptacle, or a 50 amp cable needs to be used.


Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  All

 > Just venting....
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS