|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

> Looking for a generator

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
RGar974417

Robesonia,Pa 19551

View Profile

Posted: 01/27/19 03:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I am an electrician who has installed a lot of generator hookups for home. You don't need to run everything,just the basics.Usually furnace, refridgerator, water pump if you have one, micro wave ,one receptical circuit and one lighting circuit would be minimum. This will be enough to let you get by comfortably.Generally speaking, you want one in the range of 5,000 watts for your house. For your RV you could get by with 2,000 watts to charge the batteries,run the microwave etc. If yoy want to run the A/C then you would need 3,000 watts.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

View Profile

Posted: 01/27/19 05:25pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For the house a 3500 watt Contractors is a good choce for the RV Contractor (open frame) generators are a poor choicwe.. INVERTER generators however are nice. (no need for ear plugs save at max load). HF sells both.

So do Home Depot. Lowes. Mennards Camping world. _________ and more. (fill in the blank with yoru favorite store)

HONDA Inverter generators have a Uniquie feature far as I can tell (may be more populer on larger models) a genuine FUEL PUMP that sucks fuel out of the tank.. So you can get an "Extended run kit" (new gas cap. new tank and hose)(