RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 120 not working on some outlets

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 120 not working on some outlets

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
D.E.Bishop

Eagle Rock, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/09/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/02/19 07:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It is normal for a microwave to operate when a circuit breaker or a GFCI has tripped and the outlets on that circuit are out. Microwave ovens are normally on a separate breaker as per the Natl. Elect. Code.

As others have stated, it seems as though the whole leg is dead, indicating that either a CB or GFCI has tripped. If you have a meter, check the GFCI near the kitchen or without a meter, plug in some 120 volt appliance, table lamp from the house or a hair dryer. If there isn't any power out, I will bet it is the GFCI.

Just a little nomenclature hint, a plug is on the end of a power cord of an appliance. It plugs into the outlet. The wires inside the walls or under cabinets are usually in a cable form called Romex. You had the power cord "plugged" into an outlet that didn't work. You replaced the "outlet" and connected the wires in the "romex" to the new "outlet".

After you trip and reset all the CBs, You need to remove the dead GFCI in the circuit and see if the line side(input) is hot. If it is then you should replace the GFCI. If it isn't it's either the CB or the romex that is bad.

It's really hard to trouble shoot over the net and this is the best I can do.


"I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel's sake. The great affair is to go". R. L. Stevenson

David Bishop
2002 Winnebago Adventurer 32V
95 Suzuki Sidekick 4X4
Stowmaster 5000


1492

Arlington, VA

Moderator

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/19 09:26am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Moved from Forum Posting Help and Support

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/08/19 04:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

An RV can have several circuits. but two things you need to understand

1: Many times the circuits are

Breaker---Outlet 1---2-3-4
or Breaker --_GFCI--2-3-4

BUT the FRIDGE (outlet .. If it is a DUPLEX. is different

One side is Shore/Generator power ONLY
The other side is INVERTER for the ice maker

So it is really two SINGLE outlets in one box. You hook 'em together. bad things happen.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/19 04:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Make sure the replacement is the kind that both receptacles are live. There is a household kind that looks the same but one receptacle is only live when you use a wall switch and the other is always live you can plug things into it.

You might have one of those and the downstream receptacles are dead from being on the one that needs a switch.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI

wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/08/19 06:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

BFL13 wrote:

Make sure the replacement is the kind that both receptacles are live. There is a household kind that looks the same but one receptacle is only live when you use a wall switch and the other is always live you can plug things into it.

You might have one of those and the downstream receptacles are dead from being on the one that needs a switch.

Do replacements come split? I’ve always had to break the little metal connecting tabs between the top and bottom to split them.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 02/08/19 07:00pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:

BFL13 wrote:

Make sure the replacement is the kind that both receptacles are live. There is a household kind that looks the same but one receptacle is only live when you use a wall switch and the other is always live you can plug things into it.

You might have one of those and the downstream receptacles are dead from being on the one that needs a switch.


Do replacements come split? I’ve always had to break the little metal connecting tabs between the top and bottom to split them.


Not sure, been a while. ? I was only suggesting this as an outside possibility. This explains about your tab to break:

http://www.electrical101.com/split-receptacles.html

D.E.Bishop

Eagle Rock, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/09/2001

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/08/19 11:34pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Okey, have you figured out what was wrong and fixed it?

bighatnohorse

Gig Harbor - Cave Creek

Senior Member

Joined: 01/15/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 02/09/19 07:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I had that problem it it was a loose wire tie connector.
Very hard to find.
Finding it will require a VOM and good troubleshooting skills.


2014 Lance 1181
'15 F350 6.7 diesel dually long bed
Eagle Cap Owners
“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness. . ." -Mark Twain


wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 02/09/19 03:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I might add on Some RVs... Well here's the story

Friend came over to my Rig.. Neighbor says only half his outlets are workign.. Think you can help.. (I grabbed a test meter and headed over)

As we walked I ask him about his INVERTER Do you have one "What's an inverter" was more or less the answer

Sure enough he had one. One breaker tripped.. a quick RESET fixed it.

doxiemom11

On our way to Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 01/09/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 02/10/19 09:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We had a whole leg dead once. It was the circuit breaker in the power box we were plugged in to. It was full of ants. Removed the circuit breaker. Sprayed inside the box, let it dry, then installed a new circuit breaker. All was good after that.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 120 not working on some outlets
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS