RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Winegard DM elevation sensor . Loss of sat. signal REPAIRED

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Winegard DM elevation sensor . Loss of sat. signal REPAIRED

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
klutchdust

Orange, California

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/03/19 04:55pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

When I depress the button on the unit I get an error code. I went on the roof and checked and cleaned a connection with electronic cleaner, removed both connectors going to the circuit board as was suggested.
It is hard wired and has not had a 9 volt battery mounted to the panel.

expensive little sucker.

* This post was edited 03/13/19 02:52pm by klutchdust *

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/04/19 06:12am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

klutchdust wrote:

When I depress the button on the unit I get an error code. I went on the roof and checked and cleaned a connection with electronic cleaner, removed both connectors going to the circuit board as was suggested.
It is hard wired and has not had a 9 volt battery mounted to the panel.

expensive little sucker.


Did you have a comment or question or did you fix it or what?


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

klutchdust

Orange, California

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/04/19 08:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good point. It still reads error code, any suggestions.

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 03/04/19 11:24am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I might try a 9 volt battery, in case there is some interference on the 12 v line


-- Chris Bryant
My RV Service Blog
The RV.net Blog

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/04/19 03:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What error code is it reading?

klutchdust

Orange, California

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/04/19 05:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Once the button is depressed two lines are visible then it reads e r . I installed a battery with no luck. I did read that you can count the crank rotations and it translated into a degree setting. Im going to try that once I get to the track and settled in tomorrow. They have a mobile mechanic that roams the area and has helped me out before when my fridge door fell off.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/05/19 06:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Here is a link to the manual crank elevation chart.
http://www.winegard.com/kbase/uploads/2451067.pdf
If you are seeing error messages then you already have power so no battery is necessary.
If sounds like you have a bad sensor/connection on the roof as the DM is not seeing the sensor.

klutchdust

Orange, California

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/05/19 06:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Is just the sensor replaceable.

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/05/19 05:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you use the chart a couple of times you will find that the Digital Magic device is completely unnecessary. It takes about 3 seconds to turn the necessary number of cranks and the elevation is set just as quickly as using the Digital Magic. The DM is great when setup exactly right and a disaster if it's not. Go with the chart and sit back and watch TV!

klutchdust

Orange, California

Senior Member

Joined: 06/09/2004

View Profile



Posted: 03/12/19 04:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

UPDATE:
Back home again, went on roof and found the connector from the inside wiring to the outside wiring corroded. Spliced 3 wires together,heat shrink, silicone and we now have the elevation meter back in service.
Still not having results with getting the satellite to talk to the receiver. Most advised to replace the LNB. I have switched out the receivers but no results.
I use the signal strength guide that is on the TV and it shows zeros until you can find a signal. I notice that the process is slower than it normally is. It doesn't scan the zero's fast enough if that makes any sense.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Winegard DM elevation sensor . Loss of sat. signal REPAIRED
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS