RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: 45 amp adapter-use with a gfci plug

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 45 amp adapter-use with a gfci plug

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
rbp111

Citrus Heights, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/12/19 07:36am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Camco makes an adapter which utilizes a 30 amp and a 15 amp plugs to get the user 45 amps of power. It looks like two wires coming to the 50 amp female end, which they say will allow the user to get 45 amps when there is not a 50 amp outlet. But it can't be used with a GFCI plug. Is there an adapter for the 15 amp plug which will allow the user to plug into a GFCI plug? Why does Camco not have it with a plug which would allow it already?

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/12/19 07:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rbp111 wrote:

Camco makes an adapter which utilizes a 30 amp and a 15 amp plugs to get the user 45 amps of power. It looks like two wires coming to the 50 amp female end, which they say will allow the user to get 45 amps when there is not a 50 amp outlet. But it can't be used with a GFCI plug. Is there an adapter for the 15 amp plug which will allow the user to plug into a GFCI plug? Why does Camco not have it with a plug which would allow it already?


The adapter will not work if you plug in of the pigtails into a plug with a GFCI. Sorry. It's the electrical circuit, and not the adapter, that makes this a non-workable solution.
Additionally, if does not give you 45 amps to fully utilize. It would give you 15 amps on one leg of your service and 30 amps on the other so you have to be very aware of what is running on which leg. The way those cheater boxes work best is when plugged into 2 separate 30 amp circuits giving you 30 amps on each leg.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

rbp111

Citrus Heights, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/16/2006

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 03/12/19 07:55am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks. I was afraid of that scenario. Oh well!!!

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/12/19 09:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

These cheater cords give me the heebie-jeebies. If one of the outlets they are plugged into is miswired or has some other fault (such as an open or resistive neutral), using one could cause a short circuit or a significantly and dangerously overloaded wire.

The places where these work are pretty few and far between. Not many campgrounds have two 30A sockets per site but no 50A, and GFCIs have been required for the 20A sockets per the NEC for some time now so there are not that many grandfathered in without GFCIs.





wnjj

Cornelius, Oregon

Senior Member

Joined: 01/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/12/19 09:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Not only that, if a pedestal only has 30A and 20A it may only have wire that can handle 30A, with the assumption that you use one or the other. Larger than acceptable voltage drop may happen.

rhagfo

Portland, OR

Senior Member

Joined: 07/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 03/12/19 09:39am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wnjj wrote:

Not only that, if a pedestal only has 30A and 20A it may only have wire that can handle 30A, with the assumption that you use one or the other. Larger than acceptable voltage drop may happen.


Not only that but your 30 amp could be on a shared circuit at the main panel. So if all were trying to draw near 30 amps and others on the shared circuit are doing the same, you could trip the circuit breaker at the main panel.


Russ & Paula the Beagle Belle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 Aisin DRW 4X4 Long bed.
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS, 32' GVWR 12,360#

"Visit and Enjoy Oregon State Parks"


Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 03/12/19 08:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The cheater boxes work great is you have 2 - 30 amp circuits available. I have used them in back-to-back boxes (vacant site with permission from the campground owners), boxes with 2 30 amp plugs and breakers and 2 30 amp boxes in adjacent campsites (again with permission). I have to use a 30 amp extension cord to make the last scenario work but it was close to 100 degrees outside and I had to have 2 A/C's working to survive.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 03/13/19 07:46am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

rbp111 wrote:

Camco makes an adapter which utilizes a 30 amp and a 15 amp plugs to get the user 45 amps of power. It looks like two wires coming to the 50 amp female end, which they say will allow the user to get 45 amps when there is not a 50 amp outlet. But it can't be used with a GFCI plug. Is there an adapter for the 15 amp plug which will allow the user to plug into a GFCI plug? Why does Camco not have it with a plug which would allow it already?


Won't work on a GFCI outlet if either the 30 or 15 or both are GFCI it will trip the GFCI.. I know as I have one and have to pick sites where I use it very very very carefully.

But it's a Trip o matic on every GFCI Ive ever tried it on both 30 and 15 amp.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > 45 amp adapter-use with a gfci plug
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS