|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in General RVing Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  General RVing Issues

> Question for Tire EXPERTS

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Prev
Sponsored By:
et2

MI.

View Profile

Good Sam RV Club Member

Posted: 04/05/19 06:06am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm no expert. But your owners manual might specifically state it. Good place to start.

Here's what mine says.

Replacement tires on any axle, must be of the same manufacturer. The
brand, model, size, and load range and must have a load rated carrying capacity equal to or greater than the original equipment tires.
Mixing tires on any axle of a different brand, model, size, load rating and load range can cause unusual handling and uneven braking due to different traction coef cient and could result in sudden tire failure or loss of control due to non-symmetrical handling.

That tire isn't that big why not just carry a spare if this is your concern in an emergency.

CapriRacer

Somewhere in the US

View Profile

Posted: 04/05/19 06:45am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

As a general rule, in emergency maneuvers - the kind that should be of concern - vehicles tend to pivot around odd tires - and the more odd the tire, the worse that tendency.

In this case, we are talking a small motorhome with a different brand of tire that is 1/2" smaller in diameter.

First, this combination can NOT be used for duals. The larger diameter tire will carry more load, and that could cause a catastrophic failure of the larger tire.

Even assuming the intent is to replace one of the single tires, this still sounds like a very bad idea.

JaxDad wrote: