RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Moving up to a Ram 2500.. but have some weight questions..

RV Blog

|  

RV Sales

|  

Campgrounds

|  

RV Parks

|  

RV Club

|  

RV Buyers Guide

|  

Roadside Assistance

|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Beginning RVing

Open Roads Forum  >  Beginning RVing

> Moving up to a Ram 2500.. but have some weight questions..

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Next
Sponsored By:
audiodane

alabama

View Profile

Posted: 05/02/19 01:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hello again,

I'm an engineer and I like equations that balance. But I am up against two differing sets of equations that are NOT matching. I was hoping to get some feedback here...

summary
After renting and borrowing several travel trailers with our 2014 Expedition EL (w/ HD Tow Pkg), we are now in the process of moving up to a RAM HD truck. Currently looking at the 2014+ RAM 2500. We don't want a dually, and we have a family of five. We're looking at a 2500 Crew Cab. The 3500 SRW increases payload but not much more. But it's payload on the 2500 that I'm concerned about. I have read so many posts, and talked to so many people, about pin weights, pin weight ratios, axle ratings, etc, that my head is spinning. Some say ALL my numbers need to be in-spec. Others say axle ratings and gcwr are what matters and tow vehicle gvw's are simply for class categorization of a vehicle.

But -- let's go through a specific example:

truck: 2014 Ram 2500 CTD 4dr 4x4 SRW Long Bed 3.42 (using this fantastic post!)

5th wheel: Highland Ridge LF295FBH (Mfgr Website)

kingpin weight ratios