RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev
Sponsored By:
Cummins12V98

on the road

Senior Member

Joined: 06/03/2012

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 07:50pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

"I think I'll keep it simple and get a basic 50 amp install"

Good call!!!

No need for a outdoor disconnect. Use the 50A breaker for your disconnect.

[image]


2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Halmfamily

Munford, AL

Senior Member

Joined: 07/31/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/17/19 04:34am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I have a 50amp receptacle installed for our RV. We use our RV as a guest house when company is here and they can run whatever they need. For the little extra in money go 50amp.


2008 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT DRW D/A 4x4 (Big All)
2006 Ford F350 PSD SRW King Ranch 4x4 (Henry) (Sold)
B&W Companion, 90 Aux Fuel Tank, Scan Gauge II, Curt f/m hitch, Swagman XC
2015 Forest River Sierra 360 PDEK
DW Diane, DS Michael, FB Draco and Sabian

js218

on the road

Full Member

Joined: 12/14/2017

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/17/19 05:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Have full hook ups with 50 amp service installed at 3 properties in 3 different states all installed by licensed electricians, all work as they should. If unable to do it yourself hire a professional.


2017 Haulmark 45' Super C 600hp, 12 speed I shift transmission, tandem drive axles, 3 stage engine brake, towing 26' trailer with an 08 explorer inside.
Jim

Tom/Barb

Oak Harbor, Wa

Senior Member

Joined: 10/16/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/17/19 06:00am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Our M/H requires 50 AMP, so that is what we installed. 1 small box on the side of the house.


2000 Newmar mountain aire 4081 DP, ISC/350 Allison 6 speed, Wrangler JK toad.

2manytoyz

Central FL

Senior Member

Joined: 06/16/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/17/19 11:07am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I installed a 30A outlet on my house when I moved in, and already owned a 25' TT. I've since purchased a 35' Class A, which uses 50A. I'm currently using a 30A to 50A adapter.

I recently purchased a 50A breaker from my local Home Depot. Took an old breaker with me to make sure I got the right kind to fit. Bought the fat feed wire, and a 50A RV outlet too: https://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-50-Amp-Temporary-RV-Power-Outlet-U054P/100193650

I didn't bother with the outside breaker. Didn't see much need for it since I power down the RV electrical appliances before connecting or disconnecting.

I wish I would have put in the 50A to begin with. At least I can use the old wire in the wall to pull the newer (larger gauge) wire.


Robert
Merritt Island, FL
2015 Forest River Georgetown 328TS
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited TOAD
Falcon 2 Towbar, Roadmaster 9400 Even Brake System
http://www.2manytoyz.com/


TurnThePage

North ID

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/19 09:15am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I'm leaning toward the 20/30/50 install. I'm not an electrician but know enough to be dangerous. And, no I'm not doing my own install but really want to understand the one thing that keeps popping up in the descriptions, "single phase". It's my understanding that 240v is simply two 120v legs that are 180 degrees out of phase. Doesn't that mean "2 phase"?


2015 Ram 1500
2004 Pioneer 18T6

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/23/19 09:30am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

No. Power in the USA is either single phase or 3-phase. You do not have 3-phase at home.

Transformer that produces 240 volts has a center tap. Each hot has 120v to the center tap (neutral) and 240 volts to each other. A better term is 'split phase'. Still it is single phase power.

The word 'phase' has two different meanings that get crossed up with alternating current. The two meanings have to do with phase shift and frequency. wiki explains it better than I will here.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/19 09:32am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

TurnThePage wrote:

It's my understanding that 240v is simply two 120v legs that are 180 degrees out of phase.


This is correct. Don't let semantics confuse you.

The 50 amp outlet will be exactly like a house-type stove/oven outlet: 2 hots to the outer straights, neutral to center straight and ground to center round.

The 30 will NOT be the same as a house-type 30 amp. It will have ONE hot, a neutral and a ground.

The 20 amp will be the same as the house-type with one hot, one neutral and a ground.


Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240


FMCA Forum: www.community.fmca.com/index

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

TurnThePage

North ID

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2003

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/19 09:56am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks all!

allen8106

Burrton. KS

Senior Member

Joined: 01/31/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/23/19 11:31am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don't "need" 50 amps but I did install a 50 amp outlet just in case. It's much nicer mucking around inside the 5ver when I can turn on the AC and sty cool. I rather have and not need than need it and not have it!


2010 Eagle Super Lite 315RLDS
2018 GMC Sierra 3500HD 6.6L Duramax

2010 Nights 45
2011 Nights 70
2012 Nights 144
2013 Nights 46
2014 Nights 49
2015 Nights 57
2016 Nights 73
2017 Nights 40
2018 Nights 56
2019 Nights 26


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS