RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next
Sponsored By:
wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 03:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

One thing I will warn about..

Most electricians. INstalling a 50 amp outlet and in theory all of 'em doing a 20/30/50 amp RV box. Should get it right.

But many installing JUST a 30 get it wrong. catastrophically wrong.

Myself I'd go with a 50 amp. and use a dogbone for 30

(In reality I put in a 30. but *I* put it in so it was right. I did not hire the job)


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 05/16/19 03:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What would I do? I would just get the 30 amp. The future will take care of itself.

MAKE SURE IT IS WIRED FOR 120 VOLTS ON A SINGLE BREAKER ONLY
test the voltage before you plug in


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

downtheroad

Pacific Northwest

Senior Member

Joined: 02/18/2003

View Profile



Posted: 05/16/19 03:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

We added a 30a box to the side of our garage - dedicated for the RV. With an inexpensive adapter we can also run 120v power tools and yard equipment from the same box. Have no need for the 50a leg.

This from Lowe's.

[image]


"If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane."

Arctic Fox 25Y
GMC Duramax
Blue Ox SwayPro


ken56

Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 01/12/2013

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 04:03pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

30 amp is adequate for home needs. Get a box with the breaker switch in the box. You need a single pole 30amp breaker for the main panel too but the ability to shut off power at the outside box is convenient to prevent arcing on the plug prongs. Just like at the campground, breaker off to plug in and to unplug.


I just installed one 30 amp plug with breaker. Wire was $175 for a 125ft. roll of #6. I have over a hundred foot run so I needed #6 wire. Got the box from Home Depot website, 65 bucks there. Add in the 30 amp single pole breaker and I was at $250 total.


Make sure your electrician properly sizes the wire for the length of run you have and be sure he knows it is NOT 220 volts, it is 110.

* This post was edited 05/16/19 06:10pm by ken56 *

Bumpyroad

Virginia

Senior Member

Joined: 12/01/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 04:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

TurnThePage wrote:

Does anybody ever NEED 50 amp to their RV when at home? And does anybody know if the 30 amp and 20 amp are on the same leg (in phase)?


Not needed unless you plan on using it as a spare bedroom/etc. in the summer.
I would run the extra "red" wire however just in case but sized for 30 amps for the distance involved.
bumpy





wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 04:18pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If you ever think you’ll want 50 amp service get it now. If it’s a “dedicated” outlet for a RV then all you really need is a 50 amp socket, a use a 30 amp adapter. Can’t see any reason for a 20 amp unless you want one “ Just cause”.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004

philh

Belleville MI

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 05:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Real simple, how much to run and install the 50 wire and pedestal, how much to run 30a. I think you'll find, the cost to be only slightly higher. Will you ever need it, highly unlikely... but I'll bet for the cost difference... you have to make that decision.

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 07:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would install a 50 amp single outlet box.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/16/19 07:32pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What I did (note: actually did) was install a 30A receptacle for my RV, and a switch inside the garage dedicated to it. There are readily-available heavy-duty light switches rated for 30A, though normal light switches are not.

Since the RV box would not be the same circuit as the house A/C, you need to run separate wires for it anyhow from the electric panel, so I don't see where you're really saving much by combining the two jobs, at least in terms of materials. It may well be some savings in labor to do both at the same time.





STBRetired

I-80 and I-55

Senior Member

Joined: 11/23/2015

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Online
Posted: 05/16/19 07:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I installed the 50A connection so that I don't have to use a dogbone adapter with the 50A plug on my MH. The 50/30/20 lets any of my friends "camp" in my driveway if they come for a visit. I also use the 20A for various power tools when working outside on that side of the house. I ran the #6 wire to support the 50A, but only have a 40A breaker in the main panel as I had one laying around.


1999 Newmar MACA 3796 F53 6.8L
2016 Ford Edge Sport
Roadmaster Sterling A/T with Brake Buddy Select


Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 4  
Prev  |  Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Adding a dedicated RV power plug. What would you do?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS