RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: using propane for fridge

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > using propane for fridge

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
kbottcher

pa

New Member

Joined: 05/22/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/22/19 02:59pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I use propane side of fridge to get it cold before we camp.I know i need battery to turn fridge on.Can i use battery disconnect to turn battery off then, or will the fridge then not run?
thanks in advance
Kerry

2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/22/19 03:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Dunno. Try it. If the interior light doesn't come on, no. Why does your profile show a website that's just a IP address?

wildtoad

Blythewood, SC

Senior Member

Joined: 06/05/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 05/22/19 04:09pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Even if you run the fridge on propane you need 12v power to the fridge. No power, no Fridge.


Tom Wilds
Blythewood, SC
2016 Newmar Baystar Sport 3004

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/22/19 04:31pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi,

My fridge turns off if I cycle the battery disconnect switch to the off position.


Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

1492

Arlington, VA

Moderator

Joined: 04/08/2005

View Profile



Posted: 05/23/19 07:07pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Moved from Forum Posting Help and Support

profdant139

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 11/14/2005

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/23/19 07:17pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

The control panel for the fridge runs on electricity. It doesn't draw much power, but it does need a little!


2012 Fun Finder X-139 "Boondock Style" (axle-flipped and extra insulation)
2013 Toyota Tacoma Off-Road (semi-beefy tires and components)
Our trips -- pix and text
About our trailer
"A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single list."


DrewE

Vermont

Senior Member

Joined: 08/23/2014

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/24/19 08:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

It depends on the fridge to be absolutely precise. Some (old) models did not have any electrical control circuitry for operation on gas, and so did not need battery power; you just opened a gas valve and lit the flame and maybe adjusted its size to control how much cooling you got.

Most if not all current models have electronic controls that need 12V power regardless of whether the fridge is operating in gas mode, 120V mode, or 12V mode if it's a three-way fridge. Almost certainly your fridge is in this category and does require some 12V power to operate.





2oldman

Ca

Senior Member

Joined: 04/15/2001

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/24/19 08:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

He's gone.

Ron3rd

Upland, CA USA

Senior Member

Joined: 03/22/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/24/19 09:04am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

wildtoad wrote:

Even if you run the fridge on propane you need 12v power to the fridge. No power, no Fridge.


X2. Rule of thumb: if you lose 12v power, the only thing that will work is your stove.


2016 6.7 CTD 2500 BIG HORN MEGA CAB
2013 Forest River 3001W Windjammer
Equilizer Hitch
Honda EU2000

"I have this plan to live forever; so far my plan is working"

wolfe10

Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 10/08/2000

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 05/24/19 09:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

To clarify:

Yes, your refrigerator must have 12 VDC to operate on either 120 VAC or propane. It powers the PC board.

The real question comes in as to how your coach is wired. Some wire 12 VDC to the refrigerator through the salesman switch, some provide an alternate direct routing so that you can turn off the salesman switch to kill lights, etc and have the refrigerator remain running.

Simple to determine. Turn off the salesman switch and see if the refrigerator still works.


Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38'FDDS
Ex: 1997 Safari 35'
Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240


FMCA Forum: www.community.fmca.com/index

Diesel RV Club:http://www.dieselrvclub.org/

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > using propane for fridge
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS