|  

Extended Service Plan

|  

RV Travel Assistance

|  

RV Credit Card

|  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Do It Yourself Modifications a...

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Next
Sponsored By:
Groover

Pulaski, TN

View Profile

Posted: 06/03/19 05:35am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I would love to be able to use the 6KW quiet diesel in my motorhome as a backup generator at the house. One problem is that the house needs 240V while the generator makes 120V. I have not had good luck finding 120V to 240V transformers. I am not an electrician but I remember something about isolation transformers changing the phase of the current but I don't remember if it is 180 degrees which is needed to make to 240V or only 90 degrees. Anyway, is there anyone out there with experience on this that has a good solution? I would like to be able to supply 4kw at reverse phase in case the load is off balance in the wrong direction.

DownTheAvenue

Sunny South

View Profile

Posted: 06/03/19 05:49am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You can feed both 120 volt legs of your house by jumping the one hot leg over to both legs off the house. You will not have 240 volts to power things like the stove, dryer, A/C, but both legs of the house power will be charged with 120 volts.

Ivylog

Blairsville, GA and WPB, FL.

View Profile

Posted: 06/03/19 06:05am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Good solution is to not power any of the 240V items...turn all those breakers off and do the above.

This post is my opinion (free advice). It is not intended to influence anyone's judgment nor do I advocate anyone do what I propose.

08 HR Navigator 45'
Sold 04 Dynasty after 14 great years.
How I tow.