RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Furnace pops breaker after 30 seconds.

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Furnace pops breaker after 30 seconds.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
rjsurfer

North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 10/19/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/13/19 11:51am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

My new Cougar has it's first problem, the furnace runs(gets hot)for 30 seconds or so then pops the 15 amp breaker.

It doesn't make a difference if I run on Auto or manual fan, same symptoms.

I'm thinking the fan sounds a little strange, but that could be my lousy old age hearing??

Any ideas....no time to bring it for warranty service we're off on a camping trip Sunday.

Ron W.


03 Dodge 2500 SRW,SB,EC
2018 Keystone 25RES
DRZ-400SM
DL-650

MEXICOWANDERER

las peñas, michoacan, mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 06/01/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/13/19 12:16pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Mr Ron,

Without hinting about volts and amps, you are opening the floodgate for 500 different opinions with a correct answer hiding like a needle in a haystack.

Polite suggestion. It's new, right? Take it back to the dealer. Return home and pop a brewski. [emoticon]

Lynnmor

Red Lion

Senior Member

Joined: 07/16/2011

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/13/19 12:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First of many suggestions:

If the fan sounds strange, maybe it has interference or a dry/
tight bearing causing it to pull more amps.





rjsurfer

North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 10/19/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/13/19 12:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

MEXICOWANDERER wrote:

Mr Ron,

Without hinting about volts and amps, you are opening the floodgate for 500 different opinions with a correct answer hiding like a needle in a haystack.

Polite suggestion. It's new, right? Take it back to the dealer. Return home and pop a brewski. [emoticon]


I will be taking it to the dealer but we're heading off for 10 days near Asheville first, no time for dealer trip.

Ron W.

BFL13

Victoria, BC

Senior Member

Joined: 02/15/2006

View Profile



Posted: 06/13/19 12:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

What do you mean by a "15 amp breaker"? Where is it located at the furnace or elsewhere? Usually "breaker" means 120v, so it is confusing. There are DC breakers though--resetting and those with buttons to reset them.


1991 Oakland 28DB Class C
on Ford E350-460-7.5 Gas EFI
See Profile for House electronics set-up.

time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/13/19 12:54pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

120v breaker or 12v fuse?


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

Harvard

51.6N 114.7W

Senior Member

Joined: 12/24/2005

View Profile



Posted: 06/13/19 01:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it is a 120VAC breaker then it may be due to the increased load from the converter. The converter converts 120VAC to 12 VDC. 12VDC then powers the furnace.

Maybe the 120VAC 15 Amp breaker supplies power to something else along with the converter.

Old-Biscuit

Verde Valley

Senior Member

Joined: 06/20/2009

View Profile



Posted: 06/13/19 01:20pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Clear up some confusion......

POST BRAND/MODEL of your Furnace

Most are ALL DC
Some are AC

Fan...
Auto/Manual....suggest you are doing that at the Wall Thermostat for A/C and Furnace (Cool/Heat)
Fan settings on thermostat control the Fan for A/C Unit only.
In AUTO the Fan runs when A/C Unit Runs
In Manual the A/C fan will run when furnace is runs....

All furnace controls/functions are via furnace circuit board when Thermostat Contacts Close (in Heat Mode)


SO Brand/Model AND which 15A breaker is tripping????????????


Is it time for your medication or mine?


2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
On the Road Debt Free April '07
Off the road still Debt Free Jan. '14

Chris Bryant

Arden, North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 03/26/2003

View Profile



Posted: 06/13/19 02:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If it’s the Atwood/Hydroflame 8500 series, either the breaker is bad or the blower motor is going. You can unplug the breaker and plug a 15 amp fuse in place. If it’s a bad breaker, that will work and be safe.


-- Chris Bryant

rjsurfer

North Carolina

Senior Member

Joined: 10/19/2007

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 06/13/19 02:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Ok, some more details.....

It's a Dometic DF series furnace controlled by the new InCommand system that Keystone is now installing.

The breaker that is tripping is a 12 volt 15 Amp breaker on the 12 volt side of the distribution panel. After 30 seconds it trips and the associated red Led light pops on. I can reset it by turning off the furnace control.

It doesn't matter if I run it Auto mode or Manual mode. Of course selecting manual mode for fan spèed also turns on the AC fan in the ceiling.

The manual does go into detail about some led error code faults but I'm not pulling the furnace out to read them.?...I'll leave that to the warrantee people at the dealer when we get back from our camping trip.

Ron W

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Furnace pops breaker after 30 seconds.
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.