RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Microair vs Hyper Engineering?

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Microair vs Hyper Engineering?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev
Sponsored By:
time2roll

Southern California

Senior Member

Joined: 03/21/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 06/16/19 12:41pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

GordonThree wrote:

I was considering the LC2400 model, which offers 2400 volt amps on a 20a circuit.

It's not the full 3600va of the Hughes or Sola.

From the load panel on my unit it should work, based on FLA of the compressor and blower.
I considered this for just the A/C branch circuit. Never followed through.

I have a Frank's booster but I don't run the air unless I have utility power.


2001 F150 SuperCrew
2006 Keystone Springdale 249FWBHLS
675w Solar pictures back up

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/16/19 01:22pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

pianotuna wrote:

3 tons,

If I were to start over I would not bother with the Easy or Sure. I'd just use the autoformer.


Me as well, what I prefer is that the autoformer corrects the voltage sag rather than meter power out through the sag condition...I believe it's this sag condition that is the root cause.

3 tons

philh

Belleville MI

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/16/19 08:38pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Does an autoformer have the ability to start an AC unit when running on a 2000 watt generator?

3 tons

NV.

Senior Member

Joined: 03/13/2009

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/16/19 10:27pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

philh wrote:

Does an autoformer have the ability to start an AC unit when running on a 2000 watt generator?


It’s hard to say for sure because of the several variables that I previously mentioned, however in my case (at 4,800’ elevation, 80 deg/f,10 year old air unit) voltage sag appears to have become a non-issue because the generator while in the eco mode responds smoothly and steps up RPM quickly to the increased load...

Having said that, because each case is somewhat different I also consider the comments of other posters to be highly reliable - Understand that the autoformer just provides a different strategy - JMHO

3 tons

pianotuna

Regina, SK, Canada

Senior Member

Joined: 12/18/2004

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/16/19 11:36pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I can't say for certain, but I can say that before the Microair, when starting on shore power that the Sola Basic "kicked in" in well under 1/3 of a second. Post microair, that no longer happened.

As a result I've tweaked the autoformer to cut in at 113 instead of 110. I'll be testing it on 2019 06 21.

philh wrote:

Does an autoformer have the ability to start an AC unit when running on a 2000 watt generator?



Regards, Don
My ride is a 28 foot Class C, 256 watts solar, 556 amp hours of AGM in two battery banks 12 volt batteries, 3000 watt Magnum hybrid inverter, Sola Basic Autoformer, Microair Easy Start.

jharrell

Safety Harbor, FL

Full Member

Joined: 10/09/2016

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/17/19 05:11am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

philh wrote:

Does an autoformer have the ability to start an AC unit when running on a 2000 watt generator?


I am not sure how an autoformer would help, it increases voltage by increasing current on the input side, so your locked rotor current draw just went up on the generator.

In the end power is the same, the voltage sag is due to the large amount of in-rush current to the motor.

A soft starter like a Easy-star ramps up voltage slowly to motor limiting current in-rush.

Would be interesting to know how a autoformer can help the situation, it actually seems like it would make things worse by drawing more current from the generator.

BTW My Easystart works great on my Coleman 15k.


2016 Winnebago Vista 31be - Blue Ox Rear Track Bar - Centramatic Wheel balancers
2016 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Toad - Readybrute Elite Towbar


philh

Belleville MI

Senior Member

Joined: 05/11/2015

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/17/19 09:41am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jharrell wrote:

Would be interesting to know how a autoformer can help the situation, it actually seems like it would make things worse by drawing more current from the generator.

BTW My Easystart works great on my Coleman 15k.

That was my thinking as well.

GordonThree

Northern Michigan

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2013

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 06/17/19 10:02am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I might get the transformer to use in parks with low voltage.

I think I'll stick with running my twin Yamahas for times when I need off grid AC. Together they provide 26 amps so I can also charge the battery bank a bit at the same time.


2013 KZ Sportsmen Classic 200, 20 ft TT
2020 RAM 1500, 5.7 4x4, 8 speed

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 3  
Prev

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Microair vs Hyper Engineering?
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.