RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Tech Issues: Coleman Mach Air conditioner fan problem???

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach Air conditioner fan problem???

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
jolooote

Miami, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/29/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/19 05:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Hi all. 2015 Thor Vegas, 15K BTU AC. All worked B4 I started work. Just got done cleaning the roof Ac fins. Removed roof plastic cover, Removed tin sheet metal cover over the Evaporator? fins. Cleaned em. Put all back together. Now, got nothing when indoor thermostate is on FAN, any position, Auto, Manual, Fast or lo. But, When in the AC position the fan runs in only the LO position. The compressor runs in both Lo and HI. WHAT have I done?[emoticon]
Shoulda listened to my dads advise. "If it ain't broke ...DON'T fix it!"


Joe & Charlotte

2020 Jayco Greyhawk Prestige 29MV Celestial Blue Full Body Paint E-450 305hp V10 6spd Class C 'COACH'
2012 Jeep Wrangler 285hp V6 'TOAD'


Gabby & Molly are Dogs
Leroy's a Conure, Loretta's a Squeaker

"Once it starts breakin'...GET RID OF IT!!!"


newman fulltimer

louisiana

Senior Member

Joined: 05/19/2012

View Profile



Posted: 07/03/19 06:37pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Look at the box where the filter is sounds like you knocked a wire loose

Lwiddis

Lone Pine, CA

Senior Member

Joined: 08/12/2016

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/03/19 07:15pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

“Shoulda listened to my dads advise. "If it ain't broke ...DON'T fix it!"

Nope. Maintenance is important and necessary.


Winnebago 2101DS TT & 2019 Chevy Silverado LTZ Z71, 300 watts solar-parallel & MPPT, Trojan T-125s. TALL pole for flags. Prefer USFS, COE, BLM, NPS, TVA, USF&WS, state & county camps. Bicyclist! 14 year Army vet - 11B40 then 11A - old MOS 1542 & 1560.


jolooote

Miami, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/29/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/03/19 09:04pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

opps, I'm in 'Roads and Routes'. Thout it was Tech. Issues. Sorry.

DFord

Near St Louis, MO

Senior Member

Joined: 12/16/2001

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 07/03/19 09:21pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Whether the fan runs or not is controlled by a relay. It probably has a center off position and either switches to high or low depending on what's selected on the thermostat. I could be more help if I knew the brand/model of the a/c so I could find a wiring schematic.


Don Ford
2004 Safari Trek 31SBD (F53/V10 20,500GVW)
'09 HHR 2LT or '97 Aerostar MiniVan (Remco driveshaft disconnect) for Towed vehicles
BlueOx Aventa II Towbar - ReadyBrake Inertia Brake System


cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/04/19 05:50am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

jolooote wrote:

Hi all. 2015 Thor Vegas, 15K BTU AC. All worked B4 I started work. Just got done cleaning the roof Ac fins. Removed roof plastic cover, Removed tin sheet metal cover over the Evaporator? fins. Cleaned em. Put all back together. Now, got nothing when indoor thermostate is on FAN, any position, Auto, Manual, Fast or lo. But, When in the AC position the fan runs in only the LO position. The compressor runs in both Lo and HI. WHAT have I done?[emoticon]
Shoulda listened to my dads advise. "If it ain't broke ...DON'T fix it!"


This should be your first clue You disturbed some wiring at the A/C. Got water into some connections? Knocked some wires loose?


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

jolooote

Miami, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/29/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/05/19 08:52pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks

dedmiston

Valencia

Moderator

Joined: 01/26/2004

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/08/19 07:02pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Moved from Roads & Routes.

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/09/19 06:44am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

First on Colemans you do not need to remove the sheet metal cover to clean the condenser. Colemans suck so the crud collects on the OUTSIDE and all you need remove is the outer shroud.

Sounds like yo knocked a wire loose but how you did that I don't know as there are no wires near the area you were working on

Check all plugs and connections.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


jolooote

Miami, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 01/29/2002

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/10/19 09:51pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yep, wiggled those wires, works now.

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Tech Issues

 > Coleman Mach Air conditioner fan problem???
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Tech Issues


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS