RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Technology Corner: Dish Hopper 3

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Hopper 3

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Sponsored By:
Louandsal

Arkansas

Full Member

Joined: 12/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/12/19 07:45pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

During my travels for 3 months during this coming winter, I’m planning on taking my Dish Network Hopper 3 from my house and using it in my rv with my Winegard Traveler dish. Will I be able to change my “service address” to receive the local channels as I travel around to different locations?

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/19 07:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Yes, you'll be able to change your service address as you move around either by phone call, chat session, or Facebook messaging. You'll also need a DPH42 switch to convert your Trav'ler to H3 compatibility. You could install a DPH hybrid LNB instead, but that causes some sat finding issues as I recall.


Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
Bigfoot Automatic Leveling System
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox baseplate


Big Katuna

Deland, FL

Senior Member

Joined: 12/27/2003

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/12/19 07:58pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Absolutely. If your account is an RV type their app will let you change it on a smart phone. You can also reauthorize a sat box. DISH is way easier to deal with than DTV when it comes to RVS.

What I don’t know about is which LNB you need on a Travler to work with a a Hopper.
But m pretty sure it can be done.

Hopefully Bill will check in.


My Kharma ran over my Dogma.

Louandsal

Arkansas

Full Member

Joined: 12/06/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/12/19 08:14pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Thanks! I’m having the DPH 42 switch installed in a couple weeks. I just wasn’t sure Dish would allow changing the service address. It will be nice to have an updated receiver.

TechWriter

On The Road

Senior Member

Joined: 12/22/2002

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/12/19 09:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Louandsal wrote:

Thanks! I’m having the DPH 42 switch installed in a couple weeks. I just wasn’t sure Dish would allow changing the service address. It will be nice to have an updated receiver.

If your installer wants to install the DPH42 switch on your RV roof, I'd suggest having him install the switch inside instead. Though it's easier to put the DPH42 on the roof because only a single coax has to run into your RV (instead of three), I think you'll shorten the life span of the switch if it's on your roof.

That said, you'll love your H3. I've had a Hopper 3 in my RV for three years.

However, I strongly suggest unplugging your Hopper 3 while traveling and also before powering up your Travler.


2001 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095 DP
Full Timer since May 2013
www.rvSeniorMoments.com
DISH TV for RVs

MountainAir05

New Mexico

Senior Member

Joined: 01/27/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/12/19 09:57pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

two list depending on which sat you have.

Hybrid DPH42 Switch: https://amzn.to/2JyZntf
Solo Hub: https://amzn.to/2GQC6oT
1.5 Foot Patch Cables 3 Pack: https://amzn.to/2IHi78x

if you have a 2018 or newer Winegard Trav’ler system then this is what you will need. Dish might supply all of it.

There three parts you will need are…

Dish 1000.2 DISHPRO Hybrid (DPH) LNB:
https://amzn.to/2xPqsDz

Dish Network Hybrid Solo Hub:
https://amzn.to/2Dsll2b

1.5 Foot Patch Cables 3 Pack:
https://amzn.to/2IHi78x
You only need one, but it is cheeper, go figure!
It will go from the Hybrid Solo Hub to the Hopper.

…and of course a Hopper 3 if you don’t already have one…

Dish Hopper 3 (If you need one):
https://amzn.to/2QRLgmq


the link are just there to show you a picture.

georgelesley

Tennessee

Senior Member

Joined: 07/29/2010

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/13/19 04:24pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I don not plug in the hopper or DPH42 switch until the traveler has locked all three sats. Then plug in the DPH42 and then the hopper 3. Any other way causes problems for me.


George & Lesley
2014 Itasca Sunova 33C, 2019 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude Plus toad, Demco/SMI towing system

Dutch_12078

Winters south, summers north

Senior Member

Joined: 10/07/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/13/19 06:49pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

For ease of use, I control the power to my Hopper with a remote control switch similar to the ones sold for Christmas lights, etc. Saves wear and tear on both the plug and me... [emoticon]

Thunder Mountain

Lost in the Four Corners

Senior Member

Joined: 02/09/2005

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/14/19 06:52am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

You didn't mention what year your RV was. We installed a surplus old Hopper 2 in our MH. The 2016 Journey already had the factory installed Travler so the required two wires running from the LNB were in place. Installed the switch in the overhead cabinet. Then it was plug and play. For a Hopper 3, we were told that I would have to replace the LNB just like we did at home. You Tube is your friend for making these mods.


2016 Winnebago Journey 40R
2018 Rubicon
1982 FJ40 Toyota Land Cruiser
2013 Keystone Outback 250RS
2013 Ford F150 FX4 Ecoboost
2 Arctic Cats
Polaris RZR XP 1000
4 Cats
3 Dogs
1 Bottle of Jack Daniels
Two old hippies still trying to find ourselves!

Bill.Satellite

Full-timer

Senior Member

Joined: 12/25/2012

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member


Posted: 07/14/19 02:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

TM, that's not correct. You do not replace the LNB on an older Trav'ler (pre-2018) when using the Hopper 3, you just install the DPH42 switch. If you have a newer Trav'ler (2018 and newer) then the updated LNB can be installed.


What I post is my 2 cents and nothing more. Please don't read anything into my post that's not there. If you disagree, that's OK.
Can't we all just get along?

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 

Open Roads Forum  >  Technology Corner

 > Dish Hopper 3
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Technology Corner


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:

© 2019 CWI, Inc. © 2019 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. | Terms of Use | PRIVACY POLICY | YOUR PRIVACY RIGHTS