RV.Net Open Roads Forum: Class A Motorhomes: New air conditioner problem

RV Blog

  |  

RV Sales

  |  

Campgrounds

  |  

RV Parks

  |  

RV Club

  |  

RV Buyers Guide

  |  

Roadside Assistance

  |  

Extended Service Plan

  |  

RV Travel Assistance

  |  

RV Credit Card

  |  

RV Loans

Open Roads Forum Already a member? Login here.   If not, Register Today!  |  Help

Newest  |  Active  |  Popular  |  RVing FAQ Forum Rules  |  Forum Posting Help and Support  |  Contact  

Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > New air conditioner problem

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next
Sponsored By:
Larrysr1957

Panama City

New Member

Joined: 10/30/2017

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 06:43pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

I just had 2 new a/c's installed on my 1997 Fleetwood Bounder (15000 in the front and 13,500 in the rear. Its a 30 amp supply motor home. The air conditioner cuts off and wont come back on for hours we are only running 1 of them. Are there any suggestions as to what the problem might be
I am thankful for all your help

donkeydew

OR

Senior Member

Joined: 12/14/2009

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 07:26pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

are you on shore power or generator? sound like low voltage and the unit is cutting out on thermal
low voltage = high amps which creates high heat,the thermal kick off till it cools down.

ford truck guy

Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 03/22/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 07:35pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Didn’t think 30amp would run 2 AC’s? I guess it wont, sure sounds like low voltage to me as well


Me-Her-the kids
2015 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020Redwood 3991RD Garnet


cavie

Port Charlotte Fl/ Hindsdale MA

Senior Member

Joined: 04/28/2019

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 07:40pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ford truck guy wrote:

Didn’t think 30amp would run 2 AC’s? I guess it wont, sure sounds like low voltage to me as well


OP stated he is only using 1


2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS. Retired Master Electrician. Retired Building Inspector.

All Motor Homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor Homes.

ford truck guy

Pennsylvania

Senior Member

Joined: 03/22/2008

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 08:12pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

cavie wrote:

ford truck guy wrote:

Didn’t think 30amp would run 2 AC’s? I guess it wont, sure sounds like low voltage to me as well


OP stated he is only using 1


Yup, just saw that.. helps if I use my glasses when reading![emoticon]

tommy g

West Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 08/07/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 08:44pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Who installed them? Was the Intellitec ECC used and were they wired the same as the old ones?
You said that you were using just one. Does the other AC act the same?
Does it fail on shore power or generator or both?


1998 Bounder 36s F53 460 V8 Banks power & Honda Accord toad


tommy g

West Georgia

Senior Member

Joined: 08/07/2006

View Profile



Good Sam RV Club Member

Offline
Posted: 07/28/19 08:48pm Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

ford truck guy wrote:

Didn’t think 30amp would run 2 AC’s? I guess it wont, sure sounds like low voltage to me as well
Both will run at the same time. They will not start at the same time. The "shed" feature of the Intellitec Climate Control handles this.

craig7h

Branson MO area

Senior Member

Joined: 03/23/2002

View Profile





Offline
Posted: 07/29/19 02:54am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

If both of your old ACs would run on the system, I would say that who ever installed the new units did not install correctly. Some how they must have not wired the intellitec climate control correctly. Or that you need a new climate control board.


Itasca Meridian SE 36g
Road Master Tow Dolly

wa8yxm

Wherever I happen to park

Senior Member

Joined: 07/04/2006

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/19 05:58am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

On a 30 amp RV they often install an Energy Manager by Intelletec. the purpose of this device is to limit your current consumption to 30 amps. it does this by cutting off one A/C and optionally the water heater depending on what's cooking (Drawing amps) elsewhere. Look for the control center

You can override and switch to the "Other" a/C but you won't get both of 'em on 30 amps less you cheat like I do.. But that is a major re-wire.


Home is where I park it.
Kenwood TS-2000 housed in a 2005 Damon Intruder 377


dougrainer

Carrolton, Texas

Senior Member

Joined: 06/11/2007

View Profile


Offline
Posted: 07/29/19 06:20am Link  |  Quote  |  Print  |  Notify Moderator

Need more answers
1. 1997, EMS may be a factor. Do you have the Climate control wall tstat Intellitec system that Fleetwood installs?
2. Or do you just have a Front/Rear manual AC switch?
3. If the previous AC units worked correctly until they failed and then the problem came up with the new install, then the odds are the installer did something wrong. BUT, installing 2 new AC units would not involve messing with the Intellitec system/wiring if you have that.
4. Did you install the SAME brand roof AC units?
5. You state the AC fails. WHICH AC? Does the other one operate OK?
6. BOTH will operate on Genset. What happens when you run the Genset? Doug

Reply to Topic  |  Subscribe  |  Print Topic  |  Post New Topic  | 
Page of 2  
Next

Open Roads Forum  >  Class A Motorhomes  >  General Topics

 > New air conditioner problem
Search:   Advanced Search

Search only in Class A Motorhomes


New posts No new posts
Closed, new posts Closed, no new posts
Moved, new posts Moved, no new posts

Adjust text size:




© 2020 CWI, Inc. © 2020 Good Sam Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved.